My 1.5ft Reef Log III

jackywongto

Its a long time since I see you posting.

Nice to see you back Jacky

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Its a long time since I see you posting.

Nice to see you back Jacky

Thanks Sherman! Yeah it has been a long sabbatical.

Good to see that u are still around too! You still have your tank?

Sent from my iPad2 using Tapatalk

Yes.Still running my old 5 footer.

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Gonna be busy with mahjong today. So did my PO4 test early. It dropped further and is at 0.32ppm. Geez this GFO thingy really works. I am very happy with the Hanna checker because it allows me to verify the effectiveness. The worst thing is to invest on something and being uncertain if it really helps. Think I will just drop more GFO over the next 2 days and get it within 0.075ppm ASAP. Then I can start working on my mg, ca and alk ..... Well as soon as I have got my test kit replaced!

Yes.Still running my old 5 footer.

Cool, update yr tank thread when free? So few buddies doing thread updates these days...

I can get a 2ft by 2ft by 4 ft sump. That is possible. The only thing is I need to climb a ladder to see my main tank. dry.gif

Anyway a note about MCE 600. It skims great but 1 bad thing is that I need to clean it every 4 - 5 days to maintain its efficiency.

Just washed it again and wow... skimming like theres no tml.

post-6893-0-06241200-1312644547_thumb.jp

With this baby toy, you will also need to top up your freshwater regularly.

Skimate is damn good, but the water topup have to be almost every day.

With this baby toy, you will also need to top up your freshwater regularly.

Skimate is damn good, but the water topup have to be almost every day.

Not sure if my tank evaporation is due to the skimmer but yeah I need to top up every alternate day. About 500 ml each time.

haha got 1yr liau meh keke ...

Not sure karl but sure seem long enough. Definitely 1 yr at least. Is your off day still on every Monday?

Final Call. I will be placing order tomorrow morning.

Does who wish to order, please let me know by today.

For order details,

Update :

Planning to hang my carbon and PO4 filter bags in my main tank instead.

Will add another 8 tablespoon of GFO and replace the carbon tonight.

Will monitor the readings tomorrow.

Jacky, pls change my alkalinity test to calcium test instead?

K done updated here :

is this an alternative to Rowa Phos?

or better? haha...

I have been using ROWA for the past few years, and i must also say that ROWA is proven to work !! I find Rowa tends to last longer than other P04 remover i tried, but I am just trying out the GFO now, and comparing the durability of it.

Yeah lots of prople using rowaphos. Pura seems ok too. But how good is good... Hehe.... Larry u can start measuring soon.

Woohoo got my Hanna alkalinity checker HI 755 today. Gonna have some fun tonight !!!

Good stuff

---

I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=1.328289,103.949322

Humble tank :

Size: 4x2.5x2 ft - Display 

Equipment :

Return 1 : Ecotech marine L1

Return 2 : Ecotech marine M1

CR : Skimz CM122 - Caribsea extra course media with Grotech magnesium

Light : ATI 8x54W

The word "procrastination" definitely doesn't exist in your dictionary!

Review time again.

lol think again bro..... I have been talking about upgrading for donkey years already and am still using my badly abused plastic tank......

OK back to my D&D tester.....

Was planning to test my water.

When I opened the box, the alkalinity solution bottle has already leaked.

The instruction booklet was damp and stained.

I need to make another trip to Iwarna to make a swop.... not sure if I should be disappointed or happy. I have an excuse to go shopping liao. :P

post-6893-0-50427100-1312191954_thumb.jp

So I made a trip to Iwarna today to swop my D&D test kit. Auntie passed me another set. Unfortunately there was a leak on the other bottle too. and another and another.......

We opened about 6 boxes and all of them had the same issue. Might be a batch issue. At the end, I just get my refund back and returned disappointed. If you intend to get one shortly, please open the box on the spot and see if there is any leakages or stained instruction booklet.

The only nice thing about the trip is that I bumped into Justin and another reefing friend. Nice to meet them again.

So next trip was to Hanna Instrument in Kallang Way.....

Ahem... didn't someone say this...? :rolleyes:

"Life is short. Go get what you like as long as its within your means."

Mai tu liao! Ditch the plastic tank and just go for the upgrade! :yahoo:

Lol... words do come back to haunt you, as they say....... ......

Actually I cannot confirm my tank size lah.....

2 feet cube? 2 x 1.5x1.5?

IOS? Sump? etc etc.......

Target this year !!!!

What is the amount of space you can play with? How many sides will be viewable?

If you are at least going for a 2 x 2ft area, I'd definitely go with a sump. It opens up a lot more possibilities for filtration. Sounds to me that you do not like equipment cluttering around. Having a sump will help you conceal most stuff.

Back to Hanna Checkers and Kallang way....... :)

So I was planning to order some checkers from US.

Hanna Instrument have a local office here. There last time I checked the pricing for the HI 736 (phosphorus ULR) check, I was quoted like 12 red notes and a 2 - 3 months wait time.

Larry got a heads up from CFOH that they are now selling the checker for only about 8 red notes. That is very good news.

I contacted them and indeed its true.

So for those who would like to get a hanna checker, you can proceed to

Hanna Instrument

Kallang Way, Maple Tree Bldg

Blk 161, #07-12

Tel : 6296 7118

Checker cost S$81, reagents cost S$12.50 (except for alkalinity reagents which cost S$13.50)

Made my way there and purchased my HI 755 - Alkalinity Checker :yahoo:

What is the amount of space you can play with? How many sides will be viewable?

If you are at least going for a 2 x 2ft area, I'd definitely go with a sump. It opens up a lot more possibilities for filtration. Sounds to me that you do not like equipment cluttering around. Having a sump will help you conceal most stuff.

2x2 ft is max. only 2 sides is viewable. looks like I will go with just 2 sides crystal glass. Height will definitely be about 20 inch. My arms are rather short. Will continue to use my MCE 600, want to get an FR, dosing pump, reuse my 1/15hp chiller (sufficient?)

yeah like rimless open tanks. you know my style :)

throw ideas at me pls.....