Jacky's Mini Marine Isle

jackywongto

Found some photos on my handphone.... .... might as well post them....

The sump

post-6893-0-52753900-1317834949_thumb.jp

placing the sump in cabinet and testing the positioning of the FR and skimmer.

fits perfectly !

post-6893-0-59583200-1317835279_thumb.jp

The baffle plate after the skimmer just before the water reach the return pump.

There will be sponge placed here to help reduce micro bubbles from entering the Display tank.

post-6893-0-04395300-1317835923_thumb.jp

this is the fresh water reservoir.

Not sure if I will have an ATO system but planning to store some freshwater here for easy top up.

will just get an ehiem compact to pump water in.

post-6893-0-53076800-1317836134_thumb.jp

the bottom bracing of the tank..... Though my tank is already 12 mm.... but always better to be safe than sorry.....

** just an excuse to cover up for my kiasu-ism.

post-6893-0-02146500-1317836444_thumb.jp

So in the end, the raised filter sock compartment works, eh? -_-

yeah bro... though the bottom 15% of the sock still touches the water though.... not even hieght... :P

hor se jacky... love the set up la.... :) so neat.. good tank too. hee hee

thanks desi.... :)

tank wise - cheap, good and excellent service... i am sure we all agree..... haha......

waiting to see Wilson's feedback after he got his tank....

I've always wondered... I can understand the rationale of having top bracing, but how much does it help in constructing the bottom bracing? :huh:

I think it does help but it is definitely not as strong a reinforcement as top bracing.

The bottom bracing pieces are siliconed to the inner side of the base glass (nearer to the center of the tank) and the side glass.

So there is additional strength provided to hold the side panels to the base pannel.

I was more like since I can add it in, why not as it reinforces the bottom anyway.

But I agree, top bracing is much more stronger

My bottom bracing helps to prevent the rock slipping and touch the glass, so at some point it is good to have those as well especially if you not using any sandbed like me to hold the rocks in place.

My bottom bracing helps to prevent the rock slapping and touch the glass, so at some point it is good to have those as well especially if you not using any sandbed like me to hold the rocks in place.

thats true too.... i also use the bottom bracing to set as a boundary.

SPS photos......

SPS experts, Please help me to identify what SPS is this too... I simply have no idea.....

these polyps will not extend any much longer right?

post-6893-0-28931900-1317914292_thumb.jp

post-6893-0-98131200-1317914342_thumb.jp

post-6893-0-19713300-1317914350_thumb.jp

post-6893-0-43410100-1317914357_thumb.jp

This one should be yellow birdnest...... Pls correct me if I am wrong

post-6893-0-27008100-1317914800_thumb.jp

post-6893-0-49169600-1317914823_thumb.jp

Not digitata meh?

yah Montipora digitata

lol... ty ty... I am a bloody SPS noob lah....

Lemon, ya back in Singapore ? or still in KL?

According to Wilson... this is also a yellow BN... don't know why the colour has morphed into a darker tone....

you can see the diff between the two... nice combo :)

post-6893-0-14529500-1317915504_thumb.jp

this one is called something optic or optic something?????

Extremely difficult to get a good shot on this frag because it is pretty tiny and placed all the way at the back of the tank.

Need to get my zoom lens....

post-6893-0-33557800-1317915964_thumb.jp

post-6893-0-93955900-1317915967_thumb.jp

another unknown SPS frag.

brown base with yellow polyps....

anyone knows the name?

post-6893-0-61950100-1317916254_thumb.jp

At least you managed to keep them alive.. Hahaha...

trying very hard... this is week 2.

target is 2 months.. haha :P

Had a little mishap last week when the anemone was shredded to pieces in the middle of the night...

next morning i woke up to a tank of cloudy and stinky water.

had to do 30% WC, add another bag of ROX 8.

the worst part is that my skimmer has not break in and was not producing sufficient mirco bubbles.....

gave me a fright.... The SPS were closed for a day.

Thank goodness everything is stable now except for the algae boom.....

how is things with you bro? nvr see your tank update?

all good with your little reef paradise?