DIY Chiong Skimmer Version 2.0

Tanggy

• Replies 97

Interesting... is that a solid PVC pipe for the riser tube?

How can you see thru to evaluate the foam quality?

And how are you going to clean the collection cup if its sealed like that?

Interesting... is that a solid PVC pipe for the riser tube?

How can you see thru to evaluate the foam quality?

And how are you going to clean the collection cup if its sealed like that?

had the same questions in mind... :lol:

guess you took the words out of my mouth again... :P

Well currently sourcing for clear PVC pipe for the riser. But cos putting out side, will see from the top liaoz lor. know its not perfect, but trail project and dont wanna spend too much.

The rise pipe is not seal. It is a tight fit with teflon tape to ensure a seal. so can be taken out when needed.

ke ke.... already got plans to increase my next one liaoz. a 3.5ft clear acrylic 8inch chamber with a total height of more than 4ft. 3pumps. Got qoutes for the parts liaoz. :P

Think I siao liao, siao skimmer!! Cos aloso got plans to do a injection skimmer. :yeah:

Update: just attached the inlet and outlet. waiting for glue to cure. Will put it on a wet run tomorrow to test water tightness before trying it on my tank. :lol:

It is ugly boy. might paint it to make it more presentable.

Skimmer took total of 5-6hrs to built.

Material cost:

PVC tubes pluse end cap & reducer - $30

Acrylic box - $7

Pipe/elbows - $8

Unions - $10

hose adapter - $5

Total cost to make - $60

post-9-1077035476.jpg