MY 250W DE MH project

Creetin

• Replies 90

anyway, for the benefit of those who wanna find tempered glass, here are some places u can try :)

some may be just retailers. some may not cater to us end users as they may just provide for large projects...use your logic to scan through and pick out the more highly possible ones...i think 3M is out... :lol:

1. 3M Technologies (S) Pte Ltd (65) 64548611 / 65522113

2. Abdeen Glass Merchant (65) 62932358 / 62972443

3. API (A&G) Int'l Pte Ltd (65) 64821785 / 64821539

4. API Glass Pte Ltd (65) 64821785 / 64821539

5. Armorshield Marketing (S) Pte Ltd (65) 67414997 / 67417531

6. Asahi Glass S'pore Pte Ltd (65) 62735656 / 62730885

7. Best Safety-Glass Mfg (S) Pte Ltd (65) 62612251 / 62641620

8. Glasia Pte Ltd (65) 62624214 / 62624204

9. GMX Associates Pte Ltd (65) 67747077 / 67747377

10. Haeuei Ent (65) 67411996 / 67411950

11. Jestac Tdg Pte Ltd (65) 62888290 / 62873252

12. Kario Glass Construction (65) 67470168 / 62735311

13. Llumar Window Films Pte Ltd (65) 67490106 / 67490819

14. Morris Schaefer Asia Pacific Pte Ltd (65) 62850056 / 62856885

15. Nansin (1964) Pte Ltd (65) 65323533 / 65325988

16. Newwin Trade & Engrg Pte Ltd (65) 62996288 / 62935744

17. Peng Ji Glass Merchant (65) 64822886 / 64822884

18. S P Glazier (65) 67420276 / 67421991

19. Singapore Safety Glass Pte Ltd (65) 68615530 / 68616165

20. Soon Fong Aluminium Co Pte Ltd (65) 67774455 / 67795183

21. Sungard Services Pte Ltd (65) 63820086 / 62845242

22. Sun-Gard Services Pte Ltd (65) 63820086 / 62845242

23. Sun-X Film Pte Ltd (65) 62801318 / 62845242

24. Sun-X Sun Control Pte Ltd (65) 62947876 / 62942641

25. Tan Kim Seng Aluminium Co

26. Wah Heng Glass Holdings Pte Ltd (65) 62641144 / 62651674

27. Welmark Int'l Pte Ltd (65) 62583288 / 62597711

28. Woon Meng Glass Works (65) 64450039 / 64440135

29. Yuan Guang Bldg Materials Pte Ltd (65) 68620265 / 68621661

30. Yuen Mai Glass Merchant Pte Ltd

anyway, for the benefit of those who wanna find tempered glass, here are some places u can try :)

some may be just retailers. some may not cater to us end users as they may just provide for large projects...use your logic to scan through and pick out the more highly possible ones...i think 3M is out... :lol:

1. 3M Technologies (S) Pte Ltd (65) 64548611 / 65522113

2. Abdeen Glass Merchant (65) 62932358 / 62972443

3. API (A&G) Int'l Pte Ltd (65) 64821785 / 64821539

4. API Glass Pte Ltd (65) 64821785 / 64821539

5. Armorshield Marketing (S) Pte Ltd (65) 67414997 / 67417531

6. Asahi Glass S'pore Pte Ltd (65) 62735656 / 62730885

7. Best Safety-Glass Mfg (S) Pte Ltd (65) 62612251 / 62641620

8. Glasia Pte Ltd (65) 62624214 / 62624204

9. GMX Associates Pte Ltd (65) 67747077 / 67747377

10. Haeuei Ent (65) 67411996 / 67411950

11. Jestac Tdg Pte Ltd (65) 62888290 / 62873252

12. Kario Glass Construction (65) 67470168 / 62735311

13. Llumar Window Films Pte Ltd (65) 67490106 / 67490819

14. Morris Schaefer Asia Pacific Pte Ltd (65) 62850056 / 62856885

15. Nansin (1964) Pte Ltd (65) 65323533 / 65325988

16. Newwin Trade & Engrg Pte Ltd (65) 62996288 / 62935744

17. Peng Ji Glass Merchant (65) 64822886 / 64822884

18. S P Glazier (65) 67420276 / 67421991

19. Singapore Safety Glass Pte Ltd (65) 68615530 / 68616165

20. Soon Fong Aluminium Co Pte Ltd (65) 67774455 / 67795183

21. Sungard Services Pte Ltd (65) 63820086 / 62845242

22. Sun-Gard Services Pte Ltd (65) 63820086 / 62845242

23. Sun-X Film Pte Ltd (65) 62801318 / 62845242

24. Sun-X Sun Control Pte Ltd (65) 62947876 / 62942641

25. Tan Kim Seng Aluminium Co

26. Wah Heng Glass Holdings Pte Ltd (65) 62641144 / 62651674

27. Welmark Int'l Pte Ltd (65) 62583288 / 62597711

28. Woon Meng Glass Works (65) 64450039 / 64440135

29. Yuan Guang Bldg Materials Pte Ltd (65) 68620265 / 68621661

30. Yuen Mai Glass Merchant Pte Ltd

whao....Bro...a lot of lobang arhh.. :lol::lol:

no lah..

just anyhow hantum internet phone book...and save some bros here trouble of looking for tempered glass if they need lor...

some i dun think are suitable...but i just cut and paste the search results lah...those who wanna look for tempered glass have to weed out themselves..

i can only help to this point :)

I think laminated tempered glass is gluing 2 pieces of tempered glass into one. My house window pane are laminated tempered glass. From the glass edge, you can see a piece of thin sponges like material sandwicked by 2 glass.

hon is right... :)

Laminated glass is a combination of two or more glass sheets with one or more interlayers of plastic (PVB) or resin. In case of breakage, the interlayer holds the fragments together and continues to provide resistance to the passage of persons or objects. This glass is particularly suitable where it is important to ensure the resistance of the whole sheet after breakage such as: shop-fronts, balconies, stair-railings, roof glazing.

Production

There are two types of laminated glass: PVB and resin laminated glass:

• PVB laminated glass is two or more sheets of glass which are bonded together with one or more layers (PVB) under heat and pressure to form a single piece.

• Resins laminated glass is manufactured by pouring liquid resin into the cavity between two sheets of glass which are held together until the resin cures.

post-9-1084182066.jpg

Laminated tempered glass (used in automobile windshields), which is stronger. The laminate layer is adhered to the two layers of glass, so if the glass breaks, it is held in place and doesn't fly all over. The laminate is also difficult to penetrate, so it would protect the objects in the case from a projectile.

There are laminates of different strength--bullet-proof glass has a polycarbonate laminate, whereas ordinary laminate is polyvinyl butyral.

very correct, the laminated tempered glass means that due to the tempered nature, the glass will first break in safe, non sharp edges and the broken pieces are held together by the interlayer...

tat's why when we get large stones thrown at the front windscreen...the screen breaks in a spiderweb fashion but yet the whole windscreen doesn't shatter into pieces...it will go down in one complete broken piece most of the time :)

Wah... alot of interesting discussion about tempered glass. To lazy people like me, I would rather just go out and buy an off-the-shelf MH light. This will save all the trouble.

In any case, good job Creetin. Nice work on the hook. You have given me some ideas, now I need to go to Ikea soon. hehehe

hi,

i'm a newbie here... i myself have been searching high & low for a perfect answer on how much UV light does the coral needs.

however, i've manage to dig a good article abt UV coating on some DE-MH bulf with proper scientific testing.

here's the link if you are interested : http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/nov2002/feature2.htm

apparently, even with manufacturer's claim that the bulb is UV-coated, the radiation is still high...

this is what i did for my MH setup.

i custom made a glass(botton) with side + top mirrors casing. Put the MH bulb in the casing. Went to the car tint shop(those v-kools...had to beg for it cos they won't sell it to us due to some legal contract binding stuff...) and manage to convince them to sell me 1ft x 5ft of CLEAR car-tint film(highest grade). However, because the film is meant for cars, the VLT(visible light transmission) is only at 80%. But it has 99.99% UV rejection(all types). It is also able to reject 90% of the heat.

I've pasted this film on my glass. I believe the UV light has been successfully cut off BUT the question is, will this impact the photosynthesis process for the corals since we are taking away close to 100% of the UV sources.

I've even sent my questions to www.wetwebmedia.com for an answer but i couldn't get a satisfactory one. eg. what is the effect in corelation between PAR and UV light. how much UV is enough for the corals. I've even asked if the light spectrum will be effected since the film cuts off 20% of VLT. to date, i can't get a good answer. no proper testing machine to proof if tinting the glass is a good method to use.

Currently, my MH is only 2.5inchs from the water. The glass didn't crack because tint film that i bought is shatter proof even when it's wet. I have 2 ventilation fan to exhaust the hot air out from the casing and i think it's doing a good job in keeping the casing cool.

for now, I'll still use the glass-mirror casing with high-grade tint on the glass to cut off the UV from the MH. I do not know if this is the right way to cut off UV radiation. so far, my corals are doing fine but i do not know for how long. noticed that for a day(1st day when i used the casing), everything blommed. But less than a week, things got back to "normal-like before"... a couple of them doesn't look that healthy(the sick ones has been in such situation even before i introduce the MH lighting to my tank). I cannot confirm if this is due to the FILM TINT; causes the light spectrum to be out of scope and the UV light being too low.

My next project is to get a tempered glass casing. It's in the making. This time, i'll use it as it is. I do not know what effect will this have on my corals. will let you know when i have the results.

i do not know the name of this coral that i have(attached). A couple of months ago, it was this healthy. But 2months back, my system crashed. It never did recover. Doesn't want to bloom :cry: been trying very hard to look for a cure.

out of deperation, i've upgraded my lighting to MH, added a Calcium reactor(getting a 3.6L with dual gauge + solenoid and bubble counter CO2 tank tomorrow), redo my plumbing system. Upgraded all pump to external type to ensure that the heat is reduce(manage to take out 200w of energy from the water). Upgraded the chiller(currently set at 25c). upgrading a DIY skimmer(did a lot of research on this). All this in the hope that my corals will once again bloom like the old time. Surprisingly, other types are ok. They are very much healthy.

sigh... sorry to have vented my frustration here, just couldn't help it when i see my beloved is not so healthy. I've spent close to 3k on the stuffs mentioned just to ensure that i'm doing the right thing for my corals. have spent close to 1mths of serious research on the best setups for my tank.

post-9-1085040592.jpg