just measured

ammonia = 0

no2 = 0

no3 = 3

i can add a damsel in already rite?

no3 seem abit high side..

adding one for now seem fine to me..

be patience abt it..

cause I din measure mine tat time, only ammonia n nitrite.

shh.. dun tell anyone. :yeah:

how many ft tank btw? :blink:

sorrie yesterday blur. NO3 is veri good.

Mine currently stand betweens 12.5mg/L to 25.

Take note of your NO3, it may shoot up.

Getting some greens (weeds) to take in the NO3 in future

is good. try to put greens somewhere like a refugium

to makan the NO3, not direct in tank where greens

compete with your corals for nutrients.

Bwilly,

As long as your algae are sharing the same water source, it doesn't matter if it's in the refugium or the main tank.

What is the better advice should be is: Not to have them placed in the main tank so that the macroalgae doesn't overgrow the corals. :D

sorrie yesterday blur. NO3 is veri good.

Mine currently stand betweens 12.5mg/L to 25.

Take note of your NO3, it may shoot up.

Getting some greens (weeds) to take in the NO3 in future

is good. try to put greens somewhere like a refugium

to makan the NO3, not direct in tank where greens

compete with your corals for nutrients.

ya.. have duck weed in there already.. also notice my skimmate colour is a bit lighter than before..

Bwilly,

As long as your algae are sharing the same water source, it doesn't matter if it's in the refugium or the main tank.

What is the better advice should be is: Not to have them placed in the main tank so that the macroalgae doesn't overgrow the corals. :D

ah.. I am veri hardworking..

found your thread AT..hehe..

oki. pls enlight if I am wrong.

What I meant is the green plants

will absorb (as per book) nitrate

in the water, deplete the level

to a reasonable level.

Eh, these so called unnice plants - weeds,

are also called algae..??

My concern is if the plants are in the main

tank, won't it immediately get the same

nutrients and compete with your corals?

all the (calcium, stronium, iodide) drips so should be into the main

tank, corals absorb the nutrients and passby the weeds/plants in the refugium.

Its like your always gave your favourite son the best first, excess then

pass to the daugther. haha..

Duckweed? you keep FW plants in your reeftank??

i have the same as bwilly... see his pic green colour stuff on his avatar... was told it was call turtle weed... not duck weed hahahaha... silly me..hahhaha .. i actually just remember the name is turtle weed not duck weed.. paiseh :paiseh:

dun even know there is a name call duck weed...hehehe

oki. pls enlight if I am wrong.

What I meant is the green plants

will absorb (as per book) nitrate

in the water, deplete the level

to a reasonable level.

Yeah... that's right. macroalgae does absorb nitrates as a food source.

My concern is if the plants are in the main

tank, won't it immediately get the same

nutrients and compete with your corals?

Please define the term nutrients as intepreted by you. It will confuse a lot of newbies. Nutrients usually means a source of nourishment. Nitrates can be a found of nutrition to some corals but to others, it's a form of poison that affects its health.

One coral's nutrient is another coral's poison! :D

all the (calcium, stronium, iodide) drips so should be into the main

tank, corals absorb the nutrients and passby the weeds/plants in the refugium.

Frankly, if you have sufficient water circulation from your sump, refugium to your tank, a state of equilibrium will achieved in a very short time. Unless you are saying that corals can absorb something in its immediate vicinity so quickly that nothing reaches the algae in your refugium.

hmmmmm.... interesting theory!

forget to add that i just bought 2 damsels.. :) finally got fish in my tank...

for those thinking of buying fishes/prawn/starfish.... SL just received 4 boxes of LS.. can go n chk it out 2morow