Noobie needed help

• Replies 99

The snow flake eel (Echidna nebulose) feeds primarily on crustaceans. Thus they might not touch fishes but will have 'interest' on your cleaner shrimps! ;)

Dear yiling,

your problems start on 8/1! you were doing fine until 8/1. never add any livestocks when your tank is not fully cycle.

Do not add anymore livestocks! Leave your tank to cycle until you notice a amonia and nitrite spikes after which (which easily means 3-4 weeks) you then can add your fisrt livestock.

wow 3-4weeks!!

i only let it run for 1week++ then i added in my damsels(2) and clownfishes(4) and a crab hehe... fortunately non of them died :D:D:D

btw is 2-3kg of life rock enough?

coz i only haf 2-3kgs

mine is also a 2 feet tank

btw anyone noe how to remove an anemone from the tank wall?

coz i tried removing it to move it into the new tank but it died :cry2::cry2:

wow 3-4weeks!!

i only let it run for 1week++ then i added in my damsels(2) and clownfishes(4) and a crab hehe... fortunately non of them died :D:D:D

btw is 2-3kg of life rock enough?

coz i only haf 2-3kgs

mine is also a 2 feet tank

btw anyone noe how to remove an anemone from the tank wall?

coz i tried removing it to move it into the new tank but it died :cry2::cry2:

hi ...1 wk is too little time.

too many nemo with 1 anemone will cause unrest.

u have to tickle the anemone and wait for him to let loose.

and 2-3 kg is not enough. u need MORE !!

Im a newbie as well, but these are the correct way to cycle the tank so that your fishes stay healthy and not die in months or weeks time.

Way to go Yiling. I can see that you have finally matured. ;)

Saw your recent tank pix in Azra's thread, you have added more LR - Great! :yeah:

I am sure you will progress to be a responsible reefer soon. :D

hi

glad to know that you are coming on fine.

frankly i only start on 29 dec 04, just days before you.

i had far less equipments to start with.

right on, i don't even have a skimmer nor lights.

the nitrate i measured the other day was only 15. every one of my LS are kicking and busy chasing each other round the tank. they feed like pigs on dry food too. i have no LS losses for a while already.

i guess reefing is not an easy hobby: i had spoken to many hobbyists (very new ones) while cheonging LFS. they were busy buying LS from day one. sigh ... i was also guilty of such an act.

:idea: newbie lizard

also one more thing:

i dont know if you had this. my refugium has lights, so from the onset, brown ugly algae (some called these cyno, i also don't know what it is really) grew everywhere. i don't even bother to clean them. very dirty looking. like a beach after an oil spill. they are on the sand, on the glass, on the macro plants. the macro plants (rosamere) died a few branches, after a while, they all disappeared. now i have green hairy algae taking over. and i still don't what these green hairy algae are.

enjoy ...

newbie lizard.

also one more thing:

i dont know if you had this. my refugium has lights, so from the onset, brown ugly algae (some called these cyno, i also don't know what it is really) grew everywhere. i don't even bother to clean them. very dirty looking. like a beach after an oil spill. they are on the sand, on the glass, on the macro plants. the macro plants (rosamere) died a few branches, after a while, they all disappeared. now i have green hairy algae taking over. and i still don't what these green hairy algae are.

enjoy ...

newbie lizard.

Brown filamentous algae are not Cyano.

Cyano are red in color thus the nick Red Slime, they are not algae thus will not be affected by cutting down of photo-period. The only way to control cyano is to have good skimmer and good circulation of the current.

Brown filamentous algae are present due to many resons such as poor nutrient export, over feeding and also poor circulation of current. Try reducing your feed and get a proper skimmer. ;)

oooooooooooooo... :ooh::ooh:

thx yiling..... :thanks::thanks:

does getting a tang help in controling the growth of green algae?

is there any fishes or in invertebrate that can help control the hairy green algae and green algae? i noe damsel and algae blenny eat the green and brown algae coz i saw my damsel and algae blenny eat them from the tank wall...pls help :angel::angel::bow:

:bow::bow:

oooooooooooooo... :ooh::ooh:

thx yiling..... :thanks::thanks:

does getting a tang help in controling the growth of green algae?

is there any fishes or in invertebrate that can help control the hairy green algae and green algae? i noe damsel and algae blenny eat the green and brown algae coz i saw my damsel and algae blenny eat them from the tank wall...pls help :angel::angel::bow:

:bow::bow:

If you have a minmum tank size of 3ft you can consider a Kole Tang. They are good in controlling filamentous algae.

But you should look into the root of your problem rather than depending of the livestocks to control them. Cuz whatever goes in must comes out, which means the Kole poops are also good source of nutritents to your algae.

I believe your current livestocks are already feeding of some of the algae just that the algae being a pests grows faster than what they can eat.

Thus the solution always boils down to good Nutritent Export through a good skimmer and Not Overfeeding. :D

also one more thing:

enjoy ...

newbie lizard.

hi , i havent encounter this prob. But i believed Gouldian answered your question:)

He is one of the helpful ones in this section of the forums :)

HI all,

i would also like to add in that yiling is not my name.

its my gf 's name.

She created the nick for herself and used to for few days and ask me to carry one.

Ive been trying to find ways to change the nick but it doesnt seems able to.

So let me reintro to all...

My name is Des.

HI all !!

Hope we can share some good tips and experience together :)

Cheeers !

Hehehe, after you post that, I am sure you will receive lesser help liao.... Know what I mean....

yea ...i know...but i can't live in the shadow of my gf.

and cant bring myself to lie about my gender.

anyway better be honest then picha lobang

well...never mind..

in future when we have any meetups or other events...just ask your gf to turn up can liaoz.

i will still imagine her as you.

:evil::evil::evil:

lol...

no wonder u dun sound like a gal in ur replies..

haha... i thought u r a butch :D:D jk... :D:D

btw is there anything that sae how much life rock is needed for wat feet tank?

btw my tank is a 2 feet tank.... wat other tang can i keep?

roidan wat fish is that in ur avatar? is that ur fish?

lol...

no wonder u dun sound like a gal in ur replies..

haha... i thought u r a butch :D:D jk... :D:D

btw is there anything that sae how much life rock is needed for wat feet tank?

btw my tank is a 2 feet tank.... wat other tang can i keep?

roidan wat fish is that in ur avatar? is that ur fish?

Roidan is keeping Archilles Tang Acanthurus achilles one of the more difficult species. ;)

Tang are strong and fast swimmer and thus needs the space to swim if not they tends to loose color, stunted growth and die. Even the smallest tang (Ctenochaetus tominiensis) when fully grown can reach 13cm.

Thus for 2ft tank it is not adviseable. In fact, in Reef Central the reccomended minimum size is 4ft. ;)