how to choose a jack russel puppy

hamannbmw

My family and I myself have kept many breed of dogs before(cocker spaniel,golden retriever,westie,poodle,maltese,corgi,sheltland,collie,schnauzer)

if you want small breed and HDB approved breed.I highly recommend westie.Not all westie has that brown fur thing on the mouth that you mentioned.Thats why you have to select carefully.All my 4 westies never one has that problem.I dont have a scanner or else I can send you some pics.

Another option would be corgi although HDB not approved.Its a cute little fellow full of energy but yet very good with children.

Tame but active is according to training.Its like teaching a kid from young,the manners and what to do and what not to do.Same things go to biting furnitures too.

I usually get my dogs from good breeder so you get to see the parent line.

• Replies 58

My friend told me westie is good, but thinking of cleaning its mouth n a** 3 times daily inorder to keep its fur white is difficult for me. I cant find time to do the job, however maybe can train maid to do it :lol:

BTW, can u guys recommend dogs thats more tamed but active, most importantly easy to maintain. ;) must be cute n lovable by children.

Riot, my friends shitzu mouth n a** also brown fur liao leh.... so maintaining it is not easy.

CHris, thanks for yr suggestion.. I'll search the web later and see how it looks like ;)

Jas, so what breed r u keeping now ?

Jus. Er. Does all JRT bites on sofa and mess up the house even though they are trained ??

In general, all pets have to be train/ teach if you want them to be obedient.

PS. Pls don't buy pets on an impluse to please your daughter because this is another commitment that you wouldn't escape until your dog pass away. That'll be around 9 to 15yrs depending on breed.

yes neokn, I agree with u that its a long term commitment, thats why I stated on my 1st thread " I know its a long term commitment "

Tame but active is according to training.Its like teaching a kid from young,the manners and what to do and what not to do.Same things go to biting furnitures too.

I usually get my dogs from good breeder so you get to see the parent line.

Hey Jas, that day when i was at the pet shop, the PS owner told me exactly what u mentioned here. He said , while their parents is of good/champion breed, the siblings will be much easier to tame and teach.

Now my Q is, IS IT TRUE ????

Hey Jas, that day when i was at the pet shop, the PS owner told me exactly what u mentioned here. He said , while their parents is of good/champion breed, the siblings will be much easier to tame and teach.

Now my Q is, IS IT TRUE ????

your Q is similar to when someone asked,if the kids of doctor family more smarter? My answer is NO cos many of the president scholarship winner is kids from hawkers. :lol:

My daughter's teacher always say,there isnt a stupid student,there would only be stupid teacher.

You may want to PM me which petshop you went to,if I know them,I can tell you my experience with them.first of all,you must choose the breed cos some petshop are specialist for certain breed.

my experience tells me that female dog yaps alot compared to male.Thats why we called them B I T C H. :lol: even my female mini maltese,there are times I really want to wrap a scotchtape round her mouth (just kidding only) but my female old rough hair collie never bark.Might be cos she is so old but she too was super yappy when she was younger

your Q is similar to when someone asked,if the kids of doctor family more smarter? My answer is NO cos many of the president scholarship winner is kids from hawkers.

Agree

My daughter's teacher always say,there isnt a stupid student,there would only be stupid teacher.

Well, I wouldn't say they're stupid student/ teacher, just plain lazy.

Aside to hamannbmw,

Pardon me for not reading your first post in the thread. I hope you understand my point of view.

IMHO.

Champion breed or not, it depends alot on the owner whether they want to train/teach them or not. I train both my Mini Schanuzer. (Though I must say I'm a lousy trainer) But one thing I did notice through, my MS seems to understand me. I love to talk to them whenever I can. Else we will have alot of clone dogs for sale now. :blink:

hi bro, i can go on hours after hours talking abt my little white furry son. ;) here's a short write-up on westies from AKC.

if u ask me, westie is a whole bundle of energy and fun all bundled into one. ;)

Hi Ryan,

I like your Westie too, met him during the A. Calfo's supper at Jalan Kayu.

It is definitely a well behaved and adorable dog. Even my wife who is afraid of dogs remembered him. ;)

I highly agree to neokn.Its a life time committment and all dogs need to be trained.It might not be neccessary to train it till its like tv dogs but at least for barking control,pee point,biting problem needs to be taught or else not just causing nuisance to yourself but to your neighbour too.

There is a family keeping a MS.This dog basically barks from the first moment the owner steps out and will only keep quiet when the owner returns.Imagine the noise we have to endure?

I highly agree to neokn.Its a life time committment and all dogs need to be trained.It might not be neccessary to train it till its like tv dogs but at least for barking control,pee point,biting problem needs to be taught or else not just causing nuisance to yourself but to your neighbour too.

There is a family keeping a MS.This dog basically barks from the first moment the owner steps out and will only keep quiet when the owner returns.Imagine the noise we have to endure?

:o Is your name Veron? You're my neigbhour??? :o

Just kidding.

IMHO

It's usual for small breed dog to bark alot with the slightless noise. This is to alert the owner and also to scare away would be thief. Bigger breed dog don't bark too much.

cityofangels got most of the basic questions down. Would it be easier if you try an online questionnaire: SelectaPet

Personally I prefer a Miniature Schnauzer, but an Italian Greyhound or Miniature Pinscher might be a good choice for you. Both graceful and lithe, fares well within the confines of an apartment, good with young/old, and requires little grooming.

Every pet requires a fair amount of grooming, training and exercise. Feed only good quality food and shower as much attention as you can. It helps in the long run, trust me.

Recommend purchasing from reputable breeders, be it pet or show grade. You'll be assured of conformation to breed standards (show quality), stable temperament and most importantly, good health.

It's usual for small breed dog to bark alot with the slightless noise. This is to alert the owner and also to scare away would be thief. Bigger breed dog don't bark too much.

I dont agree to this though :lol: my male mini maltese never bark.Even if he does,its a sound to get attention.

Previously my female golden retriever barks like nobody's business.Both retrievers went through training but apparantly nobody able to shut the bitch up :lol:

hm...my brother's female english cocker spaniel barks until AVA issue summon...his male doesnt bark at all.

My neighbour has a pair of corgi,the female barks alot but the male doesnt....

Gouldian,

Thx for the nice comments on my little furball. ;)

hamannbmw,

i do agree with neokn & the rest of the reefers that owning a dog is a lifelong commitment. to me, it's like having a son.

my austin is relatively easy to maintain. i bathe him once a week, with occasional brushing. his coat is well-maintained. austin is stripped every 6 mths or so to maintain his harsh coat. i give him one of the best affordable kibbles available on the market (i think.......), he's feeding on timberwolf now. salmon & elk meal.

u (along with Gouldian too) r welcomed to drop by my hse with ur kids and c how they adapt to austin. ;)

if u ever own a dog, always remember to be the one to lead ur dog and not be the one to be led.

cityofangels got most of the basic questions down. Would it be easier if you try an online questionnaire: SelectaPet

Personally I prefer a Miniature Schnauzer, but an Italian Greyhound or Miniature Pinscher might be a good choice for you. Both graceful and lithe, fares well within the confines of an apartment, good with young/old, and requires little grooming.

Every pet requires a fair amount of grooming, training and exercise. Feed only good quality food and shower as much attention as you can. It helps in the long run, trust me.

Recommend purchasing from reputable breeders, be it pet or show grade. You'll be assured of conformation to breed standards (show quality), stable temperament and most importantly, good health.

:off: Rumor, u & ur Miniature Schnauzers. :P

but they do really make good companions. when can austin catch up with them? think my boy wld like to "hump". :fear:

My friend told me westie is good, but thinking of cleaning its mouth n a** 3 times daily inorder to keep its fur white is difficult for me. I cant find time to do the job, however maybe can train maid to do it :lol:

BTW, can u guys recommend dogs thats more tamed but active, most importantly easy to maintain. ;) must be cute n lovable by children.

Riot, my friends shitzu mouth n a** also brown fur liao leh.... so maintaining it is not easy.

CHris, thanks for yr suggestion.. I'll search the web later and see how it looks like ;)

Jas, so what breed r u keeping now ?

Jus. Er. Does all JRT bites on sofa and mess up the house even though they are trained ??

:lol: This jack russel of mine em..used 2 be mine.... He's well trained,he dun bites sofa or anything in d hse. He will be very fierce if he never c u b4 & barks @ u untill u leave d door.

Well, jack russel quite easy 2 keep not like some other doggy plenty of fur....drop here & there.... normally kids r allegic 2 dods fur esp. young kid.

Hve 2 give him up cos' of my tight work schedule & also b'cos of my kid. :blink:

But pls dun buy one on implusive & then they end up....pitiful.

My aunt used 2 keep a dog,looks like bull dog,dun now his breed sorry, short fur, his face very layered looks cute.....he is well trained & his name is KOPI. He followed my aunt fm d wet mkt home by walking.my aunt found him cute & kept him. this doggy with us 4 abt 8 yrs, he died b4 my aunt shift 2 her new hse.... till 2dy i still miss him.... :cry2:

Ryan,

I have a Kong toy with a hollow I use to put stuffings in ... :D

Anytime buddy, maybe another late night binge?

Bro, remember to jio ok. Hehehehe :P:D

1. TIme : Maximum 1 hour a day

2. budget 1.5K

3. preferbly short (becos i heard long hair shed alot and lots of maintainance)

4. no sensitive family members at home

5. small dog (mini)

6. maybe 15 mins walk daily

7. active but tamed (not hyper active)

Also bro n sis here, please recommend my some pet shops with resonable price and variety. :thanks:

I guess you are like me.. Love dogs but cannot put up with the enormous amount of shedding of some breeds.

Certain breeds like Maltese, Schnauzer, Silky Terrier & Poodle do not tend to shed that much. They have long fur but can be maintained with short fur. They make great pets & companions!

I love the website which Rumor provided. However, bear in mind that it is merely a guide. ;)

Shop around.. Ask ALOT of dog owners about their dogs' temperaments etc. Do not make a hasty decision. I hope you'll be able to find the perfect breed for you & your family. :):peace: