My 1st 1.5ft Nano Diary

nkh

• Replies 52

Bro maxstar81,

Thanks for the compliment, i still learing from all brothers here. I read quite a fair bit before starting this tank. I stll trying out the heat sink stuff so dunno if it will rust a not.

The camera i using is those BENQ given free by starhub

Free camera can so clear wan ah. Or is it editing prog !?

:lol: Oh well, gd 4U.

Hm, that gives me an idea.... Will try mini heat sinks for

R/C Heli to put on my T5. See can dissipate some heat a not.

Then can save some $ with less hrs on the fan. :D

Keep us updated with your progress ah. :)

Very interesting heat sink... can post another clearer pic of it or better still pictorial of how u did it :thanks:

“Frogs have it easy, they can eat what bugs them”

"If you have no critics you'll likely have no success."

- Malcolm X

Glory Glory Man Utd!

DeZ aka Desmond

Very interesting heat sink... can post another clearer pic of it or better still pictorial of how u did it :thanks:

Acutally i just place it on top of my hang on filter. The flow from the filter will bypass the heat sink thus bringing down the temp. Will post some update when got time to spare.

Keep the comment and critics coming.

Thanks

Hey, this heat sink is VERY interesting, can try to see if it reallt can bring down the temperature of the water down.

If you put for the lights, definitely will work lah.

What I am also concern if the rusting unless you use aluminium heat sinks, but is aluiminium safe? will it still oxides?

Hey, this heat sink is VERY interesting, can try to see if it reallt can bring down the temperature of the water down.

If you put for the lights, definitely will work lah.

What I am also concern if the rusting unless you use aluminium heat sinks, but is aluiminium safe? will it still oxides?

Good question. Now still in trial phrase, unknown if it does oxidate. Previously got ppl use it in FW as a cooler. Now trying out in marine.

Yes i using aluminium heat sinks. :D

Lets see any of the living in the rocks came out dying :lol:

u cycling ur tank in freshwater or saltwater?

hmmm..ur skimmer bubbles dont look too effective

keep us update please

Cycling in saltwater. The skimmer still havent break in yet. Today is the 3rd day. 1st day there is only 2 LRs, only untill yesterday then added in more LRs. So i dun think there will much to skim until yesterday and today. Can see there is much more bubble this morning. Will keep updating of the progress

Cheers :P

wow .. new idea ? can anyone care to explain what is a heat sink ... sua ku here .

the cost and where can i buy it ... seem interesting .

anyway the tank look clean and great .

what do u intend to keep ?

wow .. new idea ? can anyone care to explain what is a heat sink ... sua ku here .

the cost and where can i buy it ... seem interesting .

anyway the tank look clean and great .

what do u intend to keep ?

Heat sink is used to cool the air in a PC. Price i not very sure, maybe some brother here can help. Usually can get in SLT or SLS.

Havent make up my mind to keep wat. Either a mixed or FOWLR. :lol:

Anyway there is still quite a fair bit of time b4 the cycling finish, so can take my own sweet time to read up more then decide wat to keep at this stage.

from photo, it appears that there is a CPU fan in between the heat sinks, are you switching on the fan to aid the cooling?

If yes, there is a lot of cooling as the water is evaporating rather fast from teh numerous fins in the heat sinks.

the pic of ur tank dosent look lyk 1.5t leh...haha....anyway..good luck...

if the temperature dosent goes tt high...can go for a reef tank..

cheers..

from photo, it appears that there is a CPU fan in between the heat sinks, are you switching on the fan to aid the cooling?

If yes, there is a lot of cooling as the water is evaporating rather fast from teh numerous fins in the heat sinks.

The fan is suppose to cool down the fin to achieve lower temp than blowing at water surface. No significant water loss from my observation. Water level remain steady almost near to water mark for such a small tank.

If i were to blow a fan over the water surface directly, the evapouration will be definitly higher.

the pic of ur tank dosent look lyk 1.5t leh...haha....anyway..good luck...

if the temperature dosent goes tt high...can go for a reef tank..

cheers..

Wahaha. look smaller than 1.5ft?

No plan for a reef tank yet, still reading up to see if able to substain a not. :sick:

after feedback from my brother and some brother abt the skimmer bubble, i decide to do something abt it. Did a change to the pump, from internal to external pump and did a little mod to the skimmer and this is the result after the modification. Just started less than 1/2 hrs running before taking this picture.

post-69-1137429530.jpg