Which brand of salt you all use most???

angelfishlover

Which brand of salt you all use most???  

236 members have voted

1. 1. Which brand of salt you all use most???

• 1)Red Sea
    • 2)Tropic Marin
    • 3)Coralife
    • 4)The Little Bottle
    • 5)Reef Crystals

Hi jus wan check it out which brand is very popular among marine hobbyist.

girlone.png

i have use tropic marin for quite some time...must say that the results is very good.. :D

i have tried coralife and zoomix....zoomix can be comparable to TM.....coralife is high in calcium and provide lots of coralines algae... :D

What's the 4) THE LITTLE BOTTLE? If you were referring to Marine Environment... that's the salt I've been using since day #1 :)

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

actually, i have tried to mix zoomix and coralife salt together with the proportion if 80%-20%.....must say that due to the high levels of calcium and magnesium from the coralife salt, it really boost up the coralines algae alot...

but if coralife alone, i find that the calcium is too high to sustain softies such as f.ric...the last time i test the calcium with TM testkits, it was 480ppm...

these are just my own opinion....maybe other coralife users can testify against the calcium issue... :D :

Why no Oceanic?

I have using it since mid of 2005, High Ca & Mg. IMHO, good for SPS or LPS tank :evil: .

sorry ah i forgot some other brands.This are the ones that i saw mostly sold in shops.The little bottle is salt mix.I saw it over at aquamarin.Wow a lot of people like to use Tropic Marine.Wrong spelling liao.I use Red Sea i jus wan test out.

girlone.png

What's the 4) THE LITTLE BOTTLE? If you were referring to Marine Environment... that's the salt I've been using since day #1 :)

thats the one.

girlone.png

Why no Oceanic?

I have using it since mid of 2005, High Ca & Mg. IMHO, good for SPS or LPS tank :evil: .

Oceanic? Read from RC not very positive tho. Algae bloom due to high content of Po4. I use Tm and ME on and off. result similar but ME cheaper. :P

haiya just buy salt that is No phosphates and No Nitrates easier.

girlone.png

• 6 months later...
Oceanic? Read from RC not very positive tho. Algae bloom due to high content of Po4. I use Tm and ME on and off. result similar but ME cheaper. :P

No problem for me since 2005 till now :angel: . But hor the con side is too Ex...so I may change to RedSea Coral Pro Salt soon :rolleyes: .

It's better than RedSea salt(normal) as the CA, Mg, KH, PH is excellence with No phosphates and No Nitrates found :lol: ! Price is reasonable :bow: !

No problem for me since 2005 till now :angel: . But hor the con side is too Ex...so I may change to RedSea Coral Pro Salt soon :rolleyes: .

It's better than RedSea salt(normal) as the CA, Mg, KH, PH is excellence with No phosphates and No Nitrates found :lol: ! Price is reasonable :bow: !

Should say red sea salt is quite good but the con side hard to dissolve.

girlone.png

Should say red sea salt is quite good but the con side hard to dissolve.

Nope...not RedSea Coral Pro salt :evil: .

Wat you referred are Redsea salt (Normal) :whistle !

Nope...not RedSea Coral Pro salt :evil: .

Wat you referred are Redsea salt (Normal) :whistle !

What i mean the coral pro salt. :paiseh:

girlone.png

I'm going for ME, cos tried Red Sea salt but it have low MG and calcium.

1154750779_a95e183733_o.gif

--Tank--

3.8ft x 2.5ft x 2.5ft - 12mm(Main) Ñ„ 3ft x 2ft x 2ft - 8mm (Sump)

--Equipments--

Chiller - 3/4hp Pacific Coo Ñ„ FR - Resun FR Ñ„ Skimmer - ATI Bubble Master 250 - Reef Maniac 30" Beckeet Ñ„ Filter - Schuran Trickle filter Ñ„ Controllers - Aquatronica Advance Controller System

--Pumps--

Return Pump - Rio 24 HF Ñ„ Beckeet Pump - Resun MD55 Ñ„ Equipment Pump - Aquabee 3000 Ñ„ Wavemaker - Tunze 6060, 2 x Seio 1500

• 3 months later...

Anyone ever tried using this brand of salt called BioMarine? Its almost the same price as Red Sea but kinda hard to find.

So far I used it and its harder to dissolve than Red Sea, and also leaves white ppt on the surface of the water when mixing. But after using it, I realised that my coraline algae really bloomed like nobody's business. But then again I've only tried these 2 brands, so don't know if Marine Environment have a much greater effect.

Sometimes the good guys gotta do bad things to make the bad guys pay. - Harvey Specter

After many years of using Oceanic, I start to switch to RedSea Coral Pro Salt since last year Octobe. The parameter is very reasonable.. Mg 1450~1480 and CA 450 ~50 at sg 1.025.

Please dun make up with Redsea salt hor...It's RedSea Coral Pro salt :eyebrow: !

After many years of using Oceanic, I start to switch to RedSea Coral Pro Salt since last year Octobe. The parameter is very reasonable.. Mg 1450~1480 and CA 450 ~50 at sg 1.025.

Please dun make up with Redsea salt hor...It's RedSea Coral Pro salt :eyebrow: !

Same here. Using Red Sea Pro.

Before that was using coralife. Also good. The only thing I don't like is that is become hard after a while.

Member of :

MASS in Facebook

Reefing in LED

Woah should try red sea coral pro.Wow long time i nvr went into forums.Now my tank is doing pretty bad cos the tank nearly crashed wif 5 fish died in one shot.Why???Circulating pump dun work.Survivors left Henry's extroadinary fishes which i duno how it survived and my 2 old and trusty bubble corals.

girlone.png