my new tank!

terryansimon

• Replies 415

bro why didn't you get mh instead? think the price you paid for the 2 sets of t5 can easily get you a nice set or 2 of mh? esp with the depth you have, even lps is going to struggle near the bottom. i would think temp wouldn't be a big problem with a 1.3hp chiller?

and the market prawn, i really think you should deshell it... :D

I didn't even bother shelling the prawns or cutting it up. it should be faster as its a larger surface area to volume ratio being decomposed.

nevermind. just pray its done by X'mas week. hopefully by then I'll just get a clownfish or two inside. either that or my mum will waste her money and put it in irregardless of what I tell her. =\

U should peel the prawns mah..

why u buy those prawns with shell one?

NTUC have those shrimp meat.

Dump a few pcs in can do liao. For 4ft, dump more..

not scare. u need plenty of spike to kickstart your LR.

When ammonia drop to zero, then u measure your NO2

then by NO3.

then, Woah..ho..! Cycled liao..!

I just dumped the rocks in. I had no more strength nor energy to shift the rocks around. =\

and why T5s first? because I wouldn't get getting corals till a years time. so why go to MH straightaway? expensive choice. and even if I do, I'd DIY the darn thing to be incorporated. the lights are bright enough to illuminate my whole living room as it is. I don't want to imagine about MH lights.

I don't want to buy everything and end up finding out that I'm not keen into keeping corals and all. so. yah. rather divert my money into something else useful first. like normal T5 lightings that will illuminate my tank. I never knew that it was so bright. so yeah. and anyways, the dimming feature is a novelty feature that I'd like to have. (=

cheers and thanks for the feedback

yo bro...GOOD MORNING.. :D

yeah ..the t5s are very bright....

my clams and macroalgae are enjoying the bask....2x54W sunpro...

the light is 6inch from the water surface and the clams are only another 5 inches or so under the water surface...quite high intensity....coz the light din penetrate far to lose alot of intensity...

tats why your 4x T5 sure can do well one :)

U should peel the prawns mah..

why u buy those prawns with shell one?

NTUC have those shrimp meat.

Dump a few pcs in can do liao. For 4ft, dump more..

not scare. u need plenty of spike to kickstart your LR.

When ammonia drop to zero, then u measure your NO2

then by NO3.

then, Woah..ho..! Cycled liao..!

bwilly:

after seeing your picture avatar...was thinking if you want to organise the infernal affairs 3 movie outing? heheheh

paiseh terry..abit :off:

whahha

i also added the support after my sand..

mistake then..

but okie lah..just stuff it down then cover with sand..the DSB shld hold it down..

all the best!

if u need then PM me loh..

the stand is lying somewhere in my house..

I'm only waiting for

1) girlfriend to come back from holiday

2) shipment of rocks to come in

should be Tuesday I think...will get another 20 to 30 kilos worth of rocks. inside already 80kilos already.

oh well. the dimmable retrofit works like a charm. trust me. its a good product. (=

my T5s courtesy of EAquanature.com.

2 sets of 2x54W ATI Dimmable Retrofit.

1 set of Aquablue Special 11,000K

1 set of Atinic Blue

the shots were taken when the lights were starting to come on. hehz. very nice. :P

how much did u spend on the lightnings?

it seems abit low (close to the water) leh...

bwilly:

after seeing your picture avatar...was thinking if you want to organise the infernal affairs 3 movie outing? heheheh

paiseh terry..abit :off:

:off: avatar? I am a big bad wolf.. I now only organise trip to GL... n its not the makan Lor 17 or 19. Woof...woof.. Ah ooh....oh..! :evil: