DIY:

sherman

or this

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

• Replies 71

Congrats Sherman :peace: .. of your DIY Wavebox. Bro RockyBoy, can you open a thread and show us how you DIY the controller?..really interesting meh. :idea:

Very simple to DIY the controller. Using 555 timer IC, some resistors, capacitors etc. Simpler than DIY the box itself. In fact I get dama to do for me the box at $25.

I'v forgot how to do the controller, need to open up the controlller again, or just look in the net.

I used these below are my references to build my controller and the box.

DIY controller

Another DIY controller

Member of :

MASS in Facebook

Reefing in LED

Very simple to DIY the controller. Using 555 timer IC, some resistors, capacitors etc. Simpler than DIY the box itself. In fact I get dama to do for me the box at $25.

I'v forgot how to do the controller, need to open up the controlller again, or just look in the net.

I used these below are my references to build my controller and the box.

DIY controller

Another DIY controller

Hi bro, can i know where to purchace the components?

Such as the 555 timer IC, resistors, capacitors etc.

I'm very interested in this diy project. thanx.

So nano wave box just use tunze nano?

Bro rocky boy, must really find u and sherman to learn how to diy the controller soon. Haas.

6091 did the trick. If only i read all these earlier...could have save some $$$.

You can enjoy the wave but pay a bit more than us.

We have to go shop for the components, solder up everything before

we can enjoy the same wave as you.

So should be the same lah.Bro :eyebrow:

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

You can enjoy the wave but pay a bit more than us.

We have to go shop for the components, solder up everything before

we can enjoy the same wave as you.

So should be the same lah.Bro :eyebrow:

No. Your wave will be much more accomplishing as nothing beats seeing a DIY working...shiok

event.png

Just wondering that these work well for DC motor, but if using the normal AC motor like Hydor K series is it possible to change the AC frequency? Since AC motors work based on the 50-60Hz range, if we can change the frequency, then its possible to control the speed of the motor?

hydor has a controller for the koralias don't they?

i know for SEIO which is also AC, TAAM did develop a controller that can vary from 30% to 100% power. unfortunately AC are not suitable for wavebox because it cannot guarantee startup in an instance, as the prop might be spinning the wrong way, thus the clunking sound when u try and start it up....

the SEIO controller works for the hydors koralias btw.. alot of examples on other forums

AC pump cannot stand the frequent on/off switching.

I had many brands so far none last more then half a year.

For wavebox it even worse you need to stop the pump and on back within very short period of time.

I think hydor had come out with a DC pump.

Correct me if I am wrong.

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

hydor has a controller for the koralias don't they?

i know for SEIO which is also AC, TAAM did develop a controller that can vary from 30% to 100% power. unfortunately AC are not suitable for wavebox because it cannot guarantee startup in an instance, as the prop might be spinning the wrong way, thus the clunking sound when u try and start it up....

the SEIO controller works for the hydors koralias btw.. alot of examples on other forums

Hydor controller is for newer DC Hydor pumps. Doesn't work with the older AC types.

AC pump cannot stand the frequent on/off switching.

I had many brands so far none last more then half a year.

For wavebox it even worse you need to stop the pump and on back within very short period of time.

I think hydor had come out with a DC pump.

Correct me if I am wrong.

Thats why I'm thinking that for AC pump instead of turn off the motor, just run it at 25% or less of the rated speed, during the OFF cycle.

If never turn off but just reduce speed should be ok.

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

• 1 year later...

<!--quoteo(post=802739:date=Apr 17 2009, 03:07 PM:name=RockyBoy)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (RockyBoy @ Apr 17 2009, 03:07 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=802739"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Bro, you want to try my DIY wavebox controller?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

Thank You for loaning me the wave box controller .

It works.

I have a 1 inch wave.All the corals are dancing with joy.

Hi Sherman.

Do you hear any clicking sound during the on of the pump?

Will this reduce the life span of the motor?

If using the 6091, will we hear those similar sound?

Thanks.

Tank : 3 x 2 x 1.8 ( setup end Feb 2014 ) --> 4 x 2 x 1.8 ( setup early Nov 2016 )
Skimmer : Bubble Magus NAC6 --> Bubble Magus Curve 7
Return pump : Jebao 10000l/h ( down in 17th December 2014 ) --> Jebao DC-12000 ( 19th December 2014 )
Compressor drop-in coil
Wavemaker : Tunze 6105 x 1
Lights : Modular based DIY LED light x 4

Chaeto in the sump

bro sherman, need your guidance.

can i use resun wavemaker/controller to diy a wavebox?

resun

they using a DC motor..

and whats the disadvantages using resun? i'm planning to jus make a small wave in my tank,

3ft x 2ft x 2.5ft.

looking forward for your input.

resun

they using a DC motor..

and whats the disadvantages using resun? i'm planning to jus make a small wave in my tank,

3ft x 2ft x 2.5ft.

Hi bro....

If the motor is DC, it should be possible, but you will need to ensure that the input level and also which pin......

And also if the device is AC connected, then you will need to look for the DC output cause the controller will be DC operating....

Tank : 3 x 2 x 1.8 ( setup end Feb 2014 ) --> 4 x 2 x 1.8 ( setup early Nov 2016 )
Skimmer : Bubble Magus NAC6 --> Bubble Magus Curve 7
Return pump : Jebao 10000l/h ( down in 17th December 2014 ) --> Jebao DC-12000 ( 19th December 2014 )
Compressor drop-in coil
Wavemaker : Tunze 6105 x 1
Lights : Modular based DIY LED light x 4

Chaeto in the sump

resun

they using a DC motor..

3ft x 2ft x 2.5ft.

Should be no issue.

I remember seeing someone using it

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer