Inconsistent in Pricing

Solo77

Just want to share some experience and hope new reefers out there learn. Wanted to get a fish and was informed by a kind bro here that the price is $85 for a small one and $100 for big one. Decided to go down and take a look at the fish. Prior to my visit, a bro went ahead and gotten the fish at the price stated(plus minus). Therefore, i was kind of interested to get one also. Went to the shop and was told $120 for all sizes. Was told shipment charge went up, etc and later given a discount price of $100.

I understand in this trade, it is willing buyer and willing seller but i find the inconsistency in pricing turned me off. I can understand for regulars tend to enjoy better discount, no doubt, and think is reasonable but for my experience, not the first time i get this kind of unpleasant experience. I also support paying premium to get better quality fishes but just cannot accept inconsistency pricing. Hence, for newbie, do your research and decide in your purchase. Happy reefing.

no point stating which shop. Understand there is no standard pricing but i think the price is almost doubled the selling price of other shops selling similar fish. Anyway, just hope beginners do more research before buying things.

Yup, it is naturally that regulars of a shop will enjoy special treatment. for me, i will place my money in shops i trust and comfortable with.

bro Ivcap, no problem lar. dont worry. he he. thks for the updates.

then i think such shops are not worth .....lol.

Anyway, i dont own them and they dont own me. Just have to bit the bullets. Lol. thanks.

Bro Solo77 you are right. LFS (and I know which one you are referring to :rolleyes: ) with healthier LS and sell them at much higher $. Small or big also same price lol! While it is true that buying healthier LS stands a better chance of survival and may save $ from having to buy again and again. But sometimes the thought of paying double or triple the mkt price, I would rather take the chance. I was quoted a small emperor 6.5 red notes.... any bro knows the price in farm? :thanks:

=) sometimes i just ask senior reefer to buy for me lor....

if it is cheaper, it is cheaper... same stuff =)

bro, cheers, we are here to enjoy the hobby =)

will go ur house when ur new super tank is up.

bro, i have a new concept, do dropby my house when u bypass ya =)

thanks all. no pro lar. just dont like the feeling but will take it easy and continue to reef on. Hehe. Time will tell. : )

Yar lorz..maybe next time we hear newbies complain that 'Solo77' get things cheaper than them at the same LFS. *chuckle*.

There's no need to bite any bullet, bro! Patronize shops that you are comfortable with. You did the right thing of finding out the market price before making any purchases. Its ridiculous to be a "carrot" first before moving on to being an "old bird" customer. Be wise in spending, especially at a time like this.

Yes, i agree with bro peacemaker...just go to the one you are comfortable.

No such crap as being carrots first b4 getting to enjoy preferred price.

I used to patronise JM until i realised their prices are shitty...dun go thru wat i went thru.

Just pm the brothers here to check how much they paid for their stuffs.

Charging premium price is fine as long as it is justifable(only the shop knows best) and customer is satisfied with the quality. Some LFS are famous for their premium pricing for stocks but yet still have lots of supporters due to quality they bought. I think the problem is inconsistent pricing and that is one which i think shop should take note. It doesnt reflect well, like those "black inn" at Sim Lim Square. If their pricing is consistent, i don't mind paying more than normal to acquire the stock or enjoy less discount(hoping one day can be in their loyal customer list to enjoy better discount). It is the disappointing feeling that an established shop giving me this impression. Maybe i am the unlucky one or should i be honoured to feel like a carrot head. Lol.

Whether the shop will prosper using this practise, only time will tell. Anyway, this is just for sharing.

bro, as mentioned, this is sharing of experience and may be an isolated case. Hence, just becareful in buying livestock, do some search to understand the so-call market rate and decide for yourself when quoted by the LFS. No offence for not disclosing. Appreciate your understanding on this. thanks.

if possible bro, pm me the lfs so i wont be carrot head :'( .. or any clues?

(didnt wanna flame just want to look out to avoid being carrot head)

that shop owner own a jaugar.. guess it how we being carrot to feed it.... <_<

no prob bro, understand bout it, no worries! :)

ok before purchase go see got animal on the owner car a not haha... :P

bro solo,anyway cheer up! some shop as you mention got quality, hope we buy more from the quality shop instead of the shop who jack up the price!

Cheers and huat to all bros/sis to get healthy LS!!!.

bro, you off again huh.....so free huh....lol.

cannot judge them on what they drive........then i should go to shop owner who dont drive and walk to shop. lol

haha...those driving BMW will jack up price more .....cos they always need to replace their window......know why

bingo. no offence to bmw owners. just for a laugh.

ya drive there is ok but try to look more poorer lol

No wonder lah, so that's why all of you wear shorts when visiting LFS. I was starting to wonder how come I always stand out as the only person who never shows leg hair :lol: