Weekly Update - 09th to 15th Nov 09

• Replies 53

bros,

last sat i drove all the way down from Pasir Ris to LCK to buy flame angel.

I was really very happy.

I chose 2 fat active looking Flame angel and pair them together to see if they fought.

After 10mins, they did not fight so i considered them as one male one female.

They have since paired up in my tank.

I am so happy to make this purchase. Good deal and good fat healthy specimen.

Plus i bought an active yellow tang.

Pity the place is so far far away ....

bros,

last sat i drove all the way down from Pasir Ris to LCK to buy flame angel.

I was really very happy.

I chose 2 fat active looking Flame angel and pair them together to see if they fought.

After 10mins, they did not fight so i considered them as one male one female.

They have since paired up in my tank.

I am so happy to make this purchase. Good deal and good fat healthy specimen.

Plus i bought an active yellow tang.

Pity the place is so far far away ....

Hi bro,

Care to share how to differential male and female?

Hi bro,

I think he just select 2 fishes, put them together for 10 mins and see if they fight.

If they do not, then he assumes that they are of different genders.

right Tivoli?

So they are still peaceful in your tank now?

Hi bro,

I was told the female has less and thick line and male has more lines if you do a comparison. Most female will have 4 - 5 lines. Heard they do change sex too. Not sure how true is this.

small sized regal angels spotted?

Best Regards,

Morpheous

==========================================================================================

My Ocean Pets:

Emperor Angel, PowderBlue Tang, Regal Angel, Teardrop Butterfly, Singapore Angel and Nemos

==========================================================================================

(Only when you guard your lips, you guard your soul....)

Hi bro,

very difficult to differentiate between males and females for centropyges. most do not have any different patterns to distinguish. even if they do, very subtle and most likely not the least bit helpful.

the best way to pair up any dwarf angel is to get 1 big and 1 small 1. sexing males tend to be larger. all of them start out as females in the wild, and as they grow larger, pecking order etc, will morph to males. so as a rule of thumb most large specimens are males.

hope that helps.

Erhm actually huh.. how I paired my flames (besides one larger and one smaller) was also to look at the end (or tip) of the fins just beside the tails. Female is rounded, male is pointed (but the thing is, sometimes its very very hard to differentiate) :)

are u keeping it with coral just wanna chk

lots of asfur and purple tang at ah beng

Best Regards,

Morpheous

My Ocean Pets:

Emperor Angel, PowderBlue Tang, Regal Angel, Teardrop Butterfly, Singapore Angel and Nemos

(Only when you guard your lips, you guard your soul....)

Yes . Thats right.

They can change gender over a few months.

Same gender together, they will surely fight esp males.

Males are usually bigger and fatter.

I think he just select 2 fishes, put them together for 10 mins and see if they fight.

If they do not, then he assumes that they are of different genders.

right Tivoli?

So they are still peaceful in your tank now?

Aquamarin lotsa fishes bros looking for small purple tangs there are a few there

this shipment really large too many fishes liao :mellow:

Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.

www.marineaquarist.sg

Literally hundreds of small sized yellow tangs found at Iwarna... plenty of flame angels and a few flame wrasses before I left.

There are a few Yashia gobies at Ah Beng's too, if anyone's looking for them.

i was at iwarna too..

are you the one in long sleeve who bought zoas from there???

and yes, seriously alot of small sized yellow tangs,

spoiled for choice... got one for myself :eyebrow:

flame angels mostly quite big..

but the intensity of red colour very nice...

Literally hundreds of small sized yellow tangs found at Iwarna... plenty of flame angels and a few flame wrasses before I left.

There are a few Yashia gobies at Ah Beng's too, if anyone's looking for them.

haha bro, got any good catch of zoas? hope you got more this round :)

i was at iwarna too..

Nope! I was there pretty late, around 6 plus, close to 7pm. Was the last to leave the place...

i was at iwarna too..

were you with your gf? haha

I was at Irwana too :D

Bro. peacemaker: Sorry that I left without saying goodbye. GF calls so had to better run before the wrath comes over my head! :X haha.

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Hehe... I did buy a few, but just some common ones. Looking forward to the day that we can chiong together again! :eyebrow:

haah pics?!

no problem lah, u may still get to see me at LFS with friends.

go to look see also fun! :)

were you with your gf? haha

I was at Irwana too :D

Bro. peacemaker: Sorry that I left without saying goodbye. GF calls so had to better run before the wrath comes over my head! :X haha.

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

yes i was with my gf.. haha..

so you're the guy in long sleeve?

cos i always seem to see u there whenever there's shipment at irwana..

familar face...

u bought like abt $300 worth of stuff right? hahaha...