Fishes and Coral Prices

Hi bruder and sista.

i'm not sure is there a thread dedicated for prices of fishes and coral. Its good for newbie like me and the rest.

This is to prevent for newbies to get chop on the chopping board when ask the prices for the fishes and coral.

This thread also might probably help those newbie wishes to set and plan again on what they should get first on their budget.

This planning earlier will less prevent the landscape of the live rock being change again and again jus to suit the placing of the corals.

Well those who wishes to add in please do, thank you.

For those coral in frag, do indicate.

prices is estimation from LFS eg. common clownfish $0.80 - $1.00

$0.80 being the cheapest u saw so far at a LFS and $1.00 being the most expensive u saw.

Hope this thread will help all those newbie and amateur reefer in years to come.

Fishes:

Common Clownfish $0.80-$1.20

Blue Poweder Tang $X.XX

Bi-color Angel $X.XX

Gramma $X.XX

Mandarin $X.XX

etc....

Coral:

Monti $X.XX

Zoa $X.XX

Species:

Cleaner Shrimps $X.XX

Eel $X.XX

Hi bruder and sista.

i'm not sure is there a thread dedicated for prices of fishes and coral. Its good for newbie like me and the rest.

This is to prevent for newbies to get chop on the chopping board when ask the prices for the fishes and coral.

This thread also might probably help those newbie wishes to set and plan again on what they should get first on their budget.

This planning earlier will less prevent the landscape of the live rock being change again and again jus to suit the placing of the corals.

$0.80 being the cheapest u saw so far at a LFS and $1.00 being the most expensive u saw.

Hope this thread will help all those newbie and amateur reefer in years to come.

Fishes:

Blue Poweder Tang $X.XX

Bi-color Angel $X.XX

Royal Gramma $20.00

Mandarin $6.00

Tail Spot Blenny $8

Coral:

Monti $X.XX

Zoa $X.XX

Species:

Cleaner Shrimps $5.00

Eel $X.XX

To be frank, it's going to be very difficult to list down all the price ranges of the fishes and corals because the same fishes/corals from different regions will have different prices. And for corals, prices also depends on colours or sub species other than the areas they are collected from.

bro, for fishes, most of the LFS sell at about the same price.

But most would be reasonable.

For corals, if you are not familiar with pricing, the place that you should not go alone is GO. If you go on a wrong day, they pricing can be extremely exorbitant. Try out Iwarna, CF and some of the other farms.

not possible to list out like what you did.

good thought but just not feasible.

Can newbies rent a jackywong or peter consultant for a coral buying trip then? stuart.gif

Better dun ask me.... I got cut throat by LFS before..... my red gonio..... painful lesson.....

I only buy corals from other reefers because I don't dare to buy from the LFS not knowing the price ranges.

If ya at Iwarna, CF actually most of the LFS, the pricing is quite alright one for normal corals.

Hi bruder and sista.

Fishes:

Blue Poweder Tang $X.XX

Bi-color Angel $X.XX

Gramma $X.XX

Mandarin $X.XX

etc....

Coral:

Monti $X.XX

Zoa $X.XX

Species:

Cleaner Shrimps $X.XX

Eel $X.XX

As far as i know,

Cleaner Shrimp: Skunk shrimp $6 for small one, $12 for large. $12 for Sri Lankan. Other cleaners: Coral Banded (normal): $4-12 (sz and locality)

Blood Shrimp: $12-35 (size n locality), Coral band (golden or blue leg): $5- $15. Low cost place for cleaners: Ah Beng. More selection at Coral Farm.

Zoas: Low end zoas: $5-10 for one large colony. Likely to have hitchhikers, watch out. Check for nudi esp if other zoas around r close. High end: Sky's the limit, reefers here has some superb ones with price to match. Ah Beng, Iwarna stocks many of the lower cost but non exotic zoas. Go in PM to see color as light not on in the morning.

Leather coral (Sarco, sinularia): $5- those morph of ultra green $120. CF has very large selection.

Xenia: $8 -$25. Jireh has a lot for $10. A lot of hitchhiker aiptasia, hydroids larva as well so select with care. GO's xenia usually a little overprice IMHO.

Gramma: Royal gramma: $20-$40 (depends on size n locality usually Caribbean) So far LCK201 sells the lowest i feel for large Royal: $25. Most sells for $35. Other gramma i dunno.

Bicolor angel: $8-12. Jireh often have them.

Coral beauty: $8 (Ah Beng, Pinnacle, AM)

Specific ones in mind juz ask...

Good luck!

it is definitely not easy but with everyone's contribution, i believe it is still possible. For corals, it may be harder as but it can still serve a general guide - for example, a normal green prata can be below $50 and premium one can cost above $100. It serves as a general price range for newbie to refer and also let them understand the difference for particular livestock. Not too sure whether shop's name should be mentioned but if it is standard throughout the year and to all customer, i guess it should not be a secret. I think the forum is to serve reefers. Maybe GoofFish may need to consolidate the list again. Thumbs up for your effort and bro oddball already provided insight info. Happy Reefing.

To be frank, it's going to be very difficult to list down all the price ranges of the fishes and corals because the same fishes/corals from different regions will have different prices. And for corals, prices also depends on colours or sub species other than the areas they are collected from.

i agree with everyone input... yes it won't be accurate. thats why it's written estimating. this is more to beginnner mah...

you all super senior already...

same same once a upon a time u guys are a begineer too mah.. before kena chop, its best to get a rough guideline here with helpful bros and sis mah.

so yes, zoa have many range, from where it is brot in and stuffs.. this description should be add in....

i know some zoa price can be really ex.... but imagine i dun even know that.. that for example i go Iwarna, and ask him those rare zoa and he quote

me like$80-$100 for tiny frag.. i will be like, "crazy or wat?!?!.. try to chop me.." than from there on wards i never step in iwarna anymore

scare kena chop.. but as i learn more and more.. i realise oohh.. thats the standard price... so from day one and till i realise i'm a kotek to think

that way, i better of know it earlier and get rough prices.. than from there plus minus..

anyway what i say jus example only ah... i have no bad encounter with irwarna.. i've great experience going there and get stuffs there....

but so far.. jus seawater and sand from them... hehehe... but they are helpful and friendly.

hope u guys understand what i'm trying to do.. not trying to list out a perfect list of prices.. jus a neat enough price guide.

it is definitely not easy but with everyone's contribution, i believe it is still possible. For corals, it may be harder as but it can still serve a general guide - for example, a normal green prata can be below $50 and premium one can cost above $100. It serves as a general price range for newbie to refer and also let them understand the difference for particular livestock. Not too sure whether shop's name should be mentioned but if it is standard throughout the year and to all customer, i guess it should not be a secret. I think the forum is to serve reefers. Maybe GoofFish may need to consolidate the list again. Thumbs up for your effort and bro oddball already provided insight info. Happy Reefing.

yes yes... thanks thanks..yes thats what i mean.. its not only my effort.. its everyone effort.. chip in bit by bit.. as the list go on and on and add on...

shop name... its up to individual... i have no say to it..

there's good and bad.. good, as in the cheaper one, ppl go rushing their shop.. and those expensive one, ppl aviod going..

so if those shop owner knows, they will make their pricing like a 'market price' like that... so good for refer lor..

Fishes:

Blue Poweder Tang $X.XX

Royal Gramma: Royal gramma: $20-$40 (depends on size n locality usually Caribbean)(LCK201 sells the lowest i feel for large Royal: $25)

Mandarin $6.00 (Red or Green?)

Tail Spot Blenny $8

Bicolor angel: $8-12 (Jireh has a lot for $10)

Coral:

Leather coral (Sarco, sinularia): $5- those morph of ultra green $120

Zoas: Low end zoas: $5-10 for one large colony.

Zoas: High end: Sky's the limit,

Xenia: $8 -$25.

Species:

Skunk shrimp $6 for small one, $12 for large. $12 for Sri Lankan

Coral Banded (normal): $4-12 (sz and locality)

Blood Shrimp: $12-35 (size n locality)

Coral band (golden or blue leg): $5- $15

Eel $X.XX

As far as i know,

Cleaner Shrimp: Skunk shrimp $6 for small one, $12 for large. $12 for Sri Lankan. Other cleaners: Coral Banded (normal): $4-12 (sz and locality)

Blood Shrimp: $12-35 (size n locality), Coral band (golden or blue leg): $5- $15. Low cost place for cleaners: Ah Beng. More selection at Coral Farm.

Zoas: Low end zoas: $5-10 for one large colony. Likely to have hitchhikers, watch out. Check for nudi esp if other zoas around r close. High end: Sky's the limit, reefers here has some superb ones with price to match. Ah Beng, Iwarna stocks many of the lower cost but non exotic zoas. Go in PM to see color as light not on in the morning.

Leather coral (Sarco, sinularia): $5- those morph of ultra green $120. CF has very large selection.

Xenia: $8 -$25. Jireh has a lot for $10. A lot of hitchhiker aiptasia, hydroids larva as well so select with care. GO's xenia usually a little overprice IMHO.

Gramma: Royal gramma: $20-$40 (depends on size n locality usually Caribbean) So far LCK201 sells the lowest i feel for large Royal: $25. Most sells for $35. Other gramma i dunno.

Bicolor angel: $8-12. Jireh often have them.

Specific ones in mind juz ask...

Good luck!

thanks bro... *thumbs up*

if u want a mandarin that is feeding on frozen mysis / brineshrimp...may cost u about $30 or more.

Xenia must see whether they are healthy...meaning the polyps are pulsing actively..those will cost u more...

powder blue tang is $30 for small ones and $35 for big ones...those that are already feeding and stable may cost u 10-20% more...coz it takes time for the LFS to train them.

the reason why some LFS like GO cost more is because the boss handpick the corals from supplier first b4 the remaining goes to other LFSes...some LFS sell much cheaper for the same species is because they do not handpick from the supplier...watever the supplier gives them...they take...so u get to see nice and not so nice corals in their shipments.

Fishes:

Powder Blue Tang $30 for small ones and $35 for big ones

Royal Gramma: Royal gramma: $20-$40 (depends on size n locality usually Caribbean)(LCK201 sells the lowest i feel for large Royal: $25)

Mandarin that is feeding on frozen mysis / brineshrimp...may cost u about $30 or more

Tail Spot Blenny $8

Bicolor angel: $8-12 (Jireh has a lot for $10)

Coral:

Species:

Eel $X.XX

Starfishes $X.XX

Bro, coral beauty is an angel. Potter and flame angel-35. Radiance wrasse ard 50. Skunk or cleaner shrimp(small)- 5. Powder blue or brown tang(small to medium) - 15, sohal 60, golden wrasse - 170, laboutei - 80, flame wrasse male - 120, female - 90, blue assessor - 35 to 45, yellow assessor-80, black ocellaris clown pair, 75 to 80, true per(small) - 12, barlett anthia-30. Let me think . .

hehe.. paisey paisey..

wahh row calls for all your beauty in your tank ah... *thumbs up*

Fishes:

Powder Blue Tang $30 for small ones and $35 for big ones

Powder Blue Tang: small, $15+/- (LCK)

Mandarin that is feeding on frozen mysis / brineshrimp...may cost u about $30 or more

Tail Spot Blenny $8

Bicolor angel: $8-12 (Jireh has a lot for $10

Coral beauty Angel: $8 (Ah Beng, Pinnacle, AM)

Potter and flame angel- $35

Radiance wrasse $50

Sohal $60

Golden wrasse - $170

Laboutei - $80

Flame wrasse male - $120, female - $90

Blue assessor - $35 to $45

Yellow assessor- $80

Black ocellaris clown pair, $75 to $80

True per(small) - $12

Barlett anthia- $30

Yellow tang: super small $23 (LCK)

Coral:

Supersun: S$60/colony, S$10/head

Species:

Peppermint shrimp: S$15

Eel $X.XX

Starfishes $X.XX

Seahorse $X.XX

maybe those kind to add in, may click on 'Reply' button and remove the 'quote' at the beginning of the message and also the end of the message.

your kind heart is great appreciated by me and the fellow newbies

GO, after shipment day madness, usually you can bargain to 100/3pc or even 4pc generally except for those known popular/expensive stuff like prata

i went their shop once after i make my tank at Alantic.... great corals they have there.. but once i enter, less than 5 second i'm out.

its my sensitive nose, can't smell those burning joss stick.

so view from outside.. darn.. saw the cardinal is very tiny.. i guess he breed them?..

anyway how much those cardinal cost? what is it call.. bangai cardinal is it? something like that