Fishes and Coral Prices

no problem. We are here to learn and share. Just share knowledge. This can serve as a guide only for some lfses which are subjected to shipment cost, etc. There was this saying ban on redsea shipment and price for purple tang went up x2. Now price for pt has stablised at less than 6 red notes. Lfses have lots reasons for premium pricing and it is up to reefers to decide to accept them. Anyway, this thread is for price and knowlegde sharing and not use to spoil any shop reputation.

hehe.. paisey paisey..

wahh row calls for all your beauty in your tank ah... *thumbs up*

no problem. We are here to learn and share. Just share knowledge. This can serve as a guide only for some lfses which are subjected to shipment cost, etc. There was this saying ban on redsea shipment and price for purple tang went up x2. Now price for pt has stablised at less than 6 red notes. Lfses have lots reasons for premium pricing and it is up to reefers to decide to accept them. Anyway, this thread is for price and knowlegde sharing and not use to spoil any shop reputation.

thanks for the support bro...

Common Clownfish $0.80-$1.20

Powder Blue Tang $30 for small ones and $35 for big ones

Powder Blue Tang: small, $15+/- (LCK)

Royal Gramma: Royal gramma: $20-$40 (depends on size n locality usually Caribbean)(LCK201 sells the lowest i feel for large Royal: $25)

Mandarin $6.00 (Red or Green?)

Mandarin that is feeding on frozen mysis / brineshrimp...may cost u about $30 or more

Tail Spot Blenny $8

Bicolor angel: $8-12 (Jireh has a lot for $10

Coral beauty Angel: $8 (Ah Beng, Pinnacle, AM)

Potter and flame angel- $35

Radiance wrasse $50

Sohal $60

Golden wrasse - $170

Laboutei - $80

Flame wrasse male - $120, female - $90

Blue assessor - $35 to $45

Yellow assessor- $80

Black ocellaris clown pair, $75 to $80

True per(small) - $12

Barlett anthia- $30

Yellow tang: super small $23 (LCK)

Coral:

Leather coral (Sarco, sinularia): $5- those morph of ultra green $120

Zoas: Low end zoas: $5-10 for one large colony.

Zoas: High end: Sky's the limit,

Xenia: $8 -$25.

Supersun: S$60/colony, S$10/head used to be 120/colony

normal sun: $15-40

Species:

Skunk shrimp $6 for small one, $12 for large. $12 for Sri Lankan

Coral Banded (normal): $4-12 (sz and locality)

Blood Shrimp: $12-35 (size n locality)

Coral band (golden or blue leg): $5- $15

Peppermint shrimp: S$15

Eel $X.XX

Starfishes $3- 25 (specify type)

Seahorse $X.XX

Hermit (electric leg): $5

Hermit (dwarf zebra) $4

Hermit (dwarf scarlet): $10

Nassa snail: $5

Turbo snail (Astraea): $2

These r common starters n CUC

maybe those kind to add in, may click on 'Reply' button and remove the 'quote' at the beginning of the message and also the end of the message.

your kind heart is great appreciated by me and the fellow newbies

True hawaiin red flame angels easily 4 digits. If you think the price is fair, then should not compare. Pricing depends on many other factors like DOA, shipping, rental, etc.

Comparing prices or listing down prices does not make sense to me.

Can you get a plate of chicken rice in town area for S$2.50?

Guess the most important for anyone to start marine is to read more from books or web. So many factor to consider before buying fishes. Let us be a responsible reefer then just to buy fish because its cheap or the extreme which is rare and expensive. Buy fishes that you like and also you are able to provide them a good home.

Factors for newbie to consider before buying any fishes (my 2 cents):

1. Will it out grow my tank size?

2. Will it be compatible to other of my fishes in my tank? If you have small gobies, guess you will not buy a grouper for S$2, right?

3. Will it cause issue? Example soap fishes and cow fishes will let go poison when under stress. This can cause a wipe out of your collection.

4. Most important....do I like this fish? Do ever buy a fish on impulse, else you will regret later.

5. Buy something you can afford. Like the Clarion angel which is 4 digit and I cannot afford it.

Comparing prices or listing down prices does not make sense to me.

Can you get a plate of chicken rice in town area for S$2.50?

Guess the most important for anyone to start marine is to read more from books or web. So many factor to consider before buying fishes. Let us be a responsible reefer then just to buy fish because its cheap or the extreme which is rare and expensive. Buy fishes that you like and also you are able to provide them a good home.

Factors for newbie to consider before buying any fishes (my 2 cents):

1. Will it out grow my tank size?

2. Will it be compatible to other of my fishes in my tank? If you have small gobies, guess you will not buy a grouper for S$2, right?

3. Will it cause issue? Example soap fishes and cow fishes will let go poison when under stress. This can cause a wipe out of your collection.

4. Most important....do I like this fish? Do ever buy a fish on impulse, else you will regret later.

5. Buy something you can afford. Like the Clarion angel which is 4 digit and I cannot afford it.

hi bro. Appreciate your input. i do go thru all the point u mention. best time to read more about fishes when u do your cycling...

anyway this thread is not to compare prices or to let any shop down.

its just to give a rough estimation range of prices for fishes, corals and species.. is for those beginner doing planning and set their budget.

like they make a plan on putting corals on their landscape.. for those with unlimited budget they jus buy and buy.. but those with budget.

they can plan better, knowing the rough prices of those live stocks.

and for all newbies, Bruder Jyoon mention valuable points to take notes. It remind me last weekend when bring my wife a look see look see at Ah Beng shop.

explaining every stop of fish tank, on the behaviour of the fish, some grow big than later got problem, some feeding a bit 'mah-fun'. The one that she find

cute is the cowfish lah.. wahh.. i told her we can buy that, but must have another tank just for him...haha...

thanks again Bruder Jyoon for the inputs.

Think those exotic fishes, let those exotic keepers go do more research and it is not so common. This is for the beginner but if as a beginner looking for exotic fishes, then I believe they would have done enough studies and able to differentiate. Yes, many factors do contribute to price and that include their business ethic, profit margin, etc. Export charge, etc can contribute to high price but locally breed stock doesn't seem cheap at times. No pt arguing which shop sells at premium and which shop sells cheap for particular stock, it is a price guide for newbie and for newbie if they choose to go to shops that sell cheap but with high fatality rate, I think they will switch to other shop. This is for reference.

Bro quite frankly, if the objective of this thread is for beginners to do planning and set up budget, then I think this is the wrong approach. When I was a newbie, I also thought there should be a thread like this to help beginners plan budget, and help so I don't get chop by LFS. Most of our LFS have v. reasonable pricing, a quick search on this forum will tell you which LFS ask for higher prices and why.

For example for fishes, I can buy a powder blue tang at LFS for $30, and then due to white spots, lose it and try countless times. So eventually maybe the cost of powder blue is actually $90, coz 3 times lucky. Some bros prob wouldn't mind paying up to double (or maybe even more) for one who is stable, feeding in somebody's tank. The same goes for corals. There will be factors for the same coral to command a better price. Maybe more stable, maybe brighter colours etc.

Maybe to help you more with your planning, a better approach would be to fix a monthly budget on spending fishes/corals. Trust me, it's better this way or you might end up spending alot more than you wished for. This way, doesn't matter what corals or how expensive they are, you already limit your spending. I would say $100/mth would be a reasonable amt to start off with. You can start off with less, but more often than not, you will find that u would be overspending every month :whistle

let's the newbies decide. No right or wrong. The general price guide is there, whether reasonable or not, buyer decides. It's open market. Not point debating on this. Maybe good to start a thread to debate this and not dilute the initiator's intention.

Fish:

Fake Percula Clownfish $0.80-$1.20

True percula (small) - $12

Tomato Clown $?

Yellow Stripe Maroon $?

Purple Tang $?

Pacific Blue Tang $?

Royal Gramma: Royal gramma: $20-$40 (depends on size n locality usually Caribbean)(LCK201 sells the lowest i feel for large Royal: $25)

Mandarin $6.00

Mandarin that is feeding on frozen mysis / brineshrimp...may cost u about $30 or more

Bicolor angel: $8-12 (Jireh has a lot for $10)

Flame Angel $?

Argi Angel $?

Radiance wrasse $50

Golden wrasse - $170

8 line wrasse $?

Sohal $60

Laboutei - $80

Yellow assessor- $80

Tail Spot Blenny $8

Barlett anthia- $30

Coral:

Species:

Fire Shrimp $?

Seahorse $X.XX

Hermit (dwarf zebra) $4

maybe those kind to add in, may click on 'Reply' button and remove the 'quote' at the beginning of the message and also the end of the message.

your kind heart is great appreciated by me and

Fish:

Tomato Clown $?

Yellow Stripe Maroon $?

Purple Tang $?

Pacific Blue Tang $?

Mandarin $6.00

Flame Angel $?

Argi Angel $?

Radiance wrasse $50

Golden wrasse - $170

8 line wrasse $?

Sohal $60

Laboutei - $80

Yellow assessor- $80

Tail Spot Blenny $8

midas blenny $18

Barlett anthia- $30

Coral:

Species:

Fire Shrimp $12

Seahorse $X.XX

Hermit (dwarf zebra) $4

your kind heart is great appreciated by me and others.

Help you re-arrange a bit for easy reference.

Clownfish

Tomato Clown $?

Yellow Stripe Maroon $?

Tang

Purple Tang $?

Pacific Blue Tang $?

Sohal $60

Angelfish

Flame Angel $?

Argi Angel $?

Wrasse

Radiance wrasse $50

Golden wrasse - $170

8 line wrasse $?

Laboutei - $80

Blenny

Tail Spot Blenny $8

midas blenny $18

Anthia

Barlett anthia- $30

Basslet

Yellow assessor- $80

Others

Mandarin $6.00

Soft Coral

LPS

Inverts

Fire Shrimp $12

Seahorse $X.XX

Hermit (dwarf zebra) $4

not sure where this is going to lead to but I'll just add in my inputs if that helps.

Maybe its good not to put the LFS name there.

Clownfish

True percula (small) $12 - $25

True perc (grade cool.gif $90

True Percs pair (grade cool.gif $150

Tomato Clown $?

Yellow Stripe Maroon $?

Tang

Purple Tang $?

Pacific Blue Tang $?

Sohal $60

Angelfish

Flame Angel $38 - $50

Argi Angel $?

Wrasse

Radiance wrasse $50

Golden wrasse - $170

8 line wrasse $?

Laboutei - $80

Splendid Leopard Wrasse $38

Blenny

Tail Spot Blenny $8 - $17

midas blenny $18

Anthia

Barlett anthia- $30

Basslet

Yellow assessor- $80

Gobies

Blue Neon Goby : $20 - $40

Others

Mandarin $6 - $12

Red Mandarin $20

Helfrichi Goby $120 - $140

Purple Firefish $12 - $28

Sand Dollar $10

Soft Coral

LPS

Inverts

Fire Shrimp $12

Seahorse $X.XX

Hermit (dwarf zebra) $4

Clownfish

Tomato Clown $?

Yellow Stripe Maroon $12

Tang

Purple Tang $50

Pacific Blue Tang $15(depending on size)

Sohal $60

Chervon Tang $120

Brown Tang $8

Clown Tang $8

Convict Tang $8

Alantic Blue Tang - $80

Achillies Tang - $160

Black Tang - $350

Gem Tang - $2800

Angelfish

Flame Angel $?

Argi Angel $?

Wrasse

Radiance wrasse $50

Golden wrasse - $170

8 line wrasse $?

Laboutei - $80

Splendid Wrasse - $38

Potter Wrasse - $28

Blenny

Tail Spot Blenny $8

midas blenny $18

Anthia

Barlett anthia- $30

Basslet

Yellow assessor- $80

Goby

Blue or Yellow Neon Goby - $20

Half Moon Goby - $20

Others

Mandarin $6.00

Soft Coral

LPS

Inverts

Fire Shrimp $12

Seahorse $X.XX

Hermit (dwarf zebra) $4

Please note price may vary from shop to shop due to region of the fish, breed, economic factor, etc.

i think he edited his own post...

post #36

yeah I realized that.... :P

Prices here are rough estimates only and based on individual reefer's experience.

Prices will vary from shop to shop due to many factors such as region/breed/size of fish, economic sense, operation cost, quarantine methods, import quantity, pellet/frozen food trained, bargaining, stock clearance, etc. Names of LFS should not be added.

Clownfish

True perc (grade $90

True Percs pair (grade $150

Tomato Clown $?

Yellow Stripe Maroon $?

Tang

Powder Blue Tang: small, $15+/-

Yellow tang: super small $23

Purple Tang $50

Sohal $60

Chervon Tang $120

Brown Tang $8

Clown Tang $8

Convict Tang $8

Alantic Blue Tang - $80

Achillies Tang - $160

Black Tang - $350

Gem Tang - $2800

Angelfish

Bicolor angel: $8-12

Coral beauty Angel: $8

Flame Angel $38 - $50

Argi Angel $?

Wrasse

Radiance wrasse $50

Golden wrasse - $170

8 line wrasse $?

Laboutei - $80

Potter Wrasse - $28

Blenny

midas blenny $18

Anthia

Barlett anthia- $30

Basslet

Royal Gramma: Royal gramma: $20-$40 (depends on size n locality usually Caribbean)

Yellow assessor- $80

Goby

Half Moon Goby - $20

Butterfly

Golden?

Threadfin?

Racoon?

Others

Mandarin $6 - $12

Red Mandarin $20

Red Firefish $5-$12

Sand Dollar $10

Soft Coral

LPS

Inverts

Coral Banded (normal): $4-12

Blood Shrimp: $12-35

Fire Shrimp $12

Seahorse $X.XX

Hermit (dwarf zebra) $4

pls click on 'Reply' button and remove the 'quote' at the beginning of the message and also the end of the message.

Prices here are rough estimates only and based on individual reefer's experience.

Prices will vary from shop to shop due to many factors such as region/breed/size of fish, economic sense, operation cost, quarantine methods, import quantity, pellet/frozen food trained, bargaining, stock clearance, etc. Names of LFS should not be added.

Clownfish

True perc (grade $90

True Percs pair (grade $150

Tomato Clown $?

Yellow Stripe Maroon $?

Tang

Powder Blue Tang: small, $15+/-

Yellow tang: super small $23

Purple Tang $50

Sohal $60

Chervon Tang $120

Brown Tang $8

Clown Tang $8

Convict Tang $8

Alantic Blue Tang - $80

Achillies Tang - $160

Black Tang - $350

Gem Tang - $2800

Angelfish

Bicolor angel: $8-12

Coral beauty Angel: $8

Flame Angel $38 - $50

Argi Angel $?

Wrasse

Radiance wrasse $50

Golden wrasse - $170

8 line wrasse $?

Laboutei - $80

Potter Wrasse - $28

6 line wrasse - $8

Blenny

midas blenny $18

Anthia

Barlett anthia- $30

Basslet

Royal Gramma: Royal gramma: $20-$40 (depends on size n locality usually Caribbean)

Yellow assessor- $80

Goby

Half Moon Goby - $20

Butterfly

Golden?

Threadfin?

Racoon?

Others

Mandarin $6 - $12

Red Mandarin $20

Red Firefish $5-$12

Sand Dollar $10

Soft Coral

Mushrooms : Low end: $5 - 10

Mushrooms : High end: $20 - 30

Yumas : Low end: $10

Yumas : High end: $50 - $90

Rics : Green: $25 - $30

Rics : Blue: $35 - $40

Rics : Orange: $35 - $40

Rics : Multicolour: $35 - $120

LPS

Japanese Sun: $80 - $280

Inverts

Coral Banded (normal): $4-12

Blood Shrimp: $12-35

Fire Shrimp $12

Seahorse $X.XX

Hermit (dwarf zebra) $4

pls click on 'Reply' button and remove the 'quote' at the beginning of the message and also the end of the message.

it will be good to state the shop beside the pricing too. as far as i know, only 1 place will sell male flame wrasse at this pricing.... i dun think reborn n iwarna r selling at this price....Splendid Leopard Wrasse $38 should be from AM i guess.... black tang i believe diff sizes diff pricing too....and saw from a post recently saying price of black tang went up....

tEc' date='24 April 2010 - 12:47 PM' timestamp='1272084446' post='902609']

it will be good to state the shop beside the pricing too. as far as i know, only 1 place will sell male flame wrasse at this pricing.... i dun think reborn n iwarna r selling at this price....Splendid Leopard Wrasse $38 should be from AM i guess.... black tang i believe diff sizes diff pricing too....and saw from a post recently saying price of black tang went up....

some comfortable of mention the shop name and some don't.... to be i dun mind mentioning it as forum are for benefits for us, not for the LFS.

we should share and exchange informations.. but i leave it up to the rest...