Alternative to anemones

maKo

Are there alternatives to anemones for the purpose of hosting clownfishes? I know that clownfishes do not really need a "waterbed" in order to do well in an aquarium, but its nice to watch them frolicking in the tentacles, don't you think?

I heard clowns also host in some other tentacled corals that don't move around the place, can someone here please enlighten me...thanks!

My clown used to host my button until i think it kinda died... doesn't open up anymore and well... looks 'dead' with sometime only a few open up... i removed it.... now it's hosting my torch... nice to watch.. but when i off the lights and when i 1st on the lights my clown will start disturbing them again... sometimes i dunno whether torch like it or not..

I dun think any corals will like it.. but well.. ;)

try fake anemone. saw once in a lfs,sorry cant remember where.

huh.. how to make fake anemones? Use agar agar isit.. :lol:

Wow...now I'm overwhelmed with too many choices!! Summary:

-hammer

-torch

-brain

-button

-plate

-toadstool leather

-&FAKE ANEMONE - why didn't i think of that :P

Thanks guys.

So when the lights go off the poor clown will have to sleep on the bed without its matress! :lol:

My clowns are hosting the hammer.

Imagine.....orange and black perc clowns against luminous green hammers...... ;)

hahha :lol::whistle

anyway my false clown which was with me for the last 3~4 months dun need any "waterbed" but suddenly it use my jewel as its bed.. :o have remove it to my sump as it keep disturbing my gonipora...

post-7-1075952437.jpg

hahha :lol::whistle

anyway my false clown which was with me for the last 3~4 months dun need any "waterbed" but suddenly it use my jewel as its bed.. :o have remove it to my sump as it keep disturbing my gonipora...

remove the clown to sump..? poor thing bo..?

maybe let go for adoption.

wah.. didn't know anemones so brave.. they may be immune to the sting but probably not 'immune' to getting eaten right?

:whistle

Is this at nite or kanna makan liao? :blink:

saw the big 'bone' at the side..remind you of StarWars Jabba the Hut Rancor dungeon????? :eyebrow::eyebrow:

:D:D That Guy loves irritating my elephant ear(a night shot) ...currently adoptd by a fellow reefer....he is too big for my elephant ear to eat anyway :lol::lol:

Basically, clownfishes are pretty adaptable, I removed all of them as I was not able to provide an anemone for them, they end up rubbing against corals like bubbles <_<