pricing for starphire glass????

zorden

so is it starfire or saphire?

I try not to use those normal glass... got a tint of color over the site...

but need to watch my budget

• 5 months later...
Looking for contacts for two pieces of 6 ft by 2 ft starphire glass... :rolleyes:

Pls pm me if you have any contacts.

Thanks. :peace:

jie, dun waste money liao lah...

told u sapphire glass is not worth the money...rather u get an acrylic tank from IAN...much cheaper and clearer as well...but of cos more scratches also...

Starphire glass must be made thicker than normal due to the low iron contect and making the glass weaker

Not worth the cash IMO

Starphire glass must be made thicker than normal due to the low iron contect and making the glass weaker

Not worth the cash IMO

but with that comes almost picture perfect colour rendition. it doesn't dull out the green or blue colour that is present in the corals or fishes, due to the natural tint of normal glass itself.

I meant how much can the green tint render to your corals?

If you want natural looking corals, get a lights which have high CRI

You try to look at your corals from the top without looking thru the glass and you'll see much better colors.

This is especially true for SPS and clams.

But then if your corals got no colors in the first place, no need to use low iron glass, there will certainly be no diff :P

You try to look at your corals from the top without looking thru the glass and you'll see much better colors.

But then if your corals got no colors in the first place, no need to use low iron glass, there will certainly be no diff :P

Well said :lol:

I meant how much can the green tint render to your corals?

If you want natural looking corals, get a lights which have high CRI

if you are a fuss pot, it can make the difference between appreciating your corals and tearing your hair out over wrong colour rendition.

the same thing can be said for different cameras. both do the same jobs, capturing of images. but the colour rendition that comes along with both cameras are completely different. why do you think we have technology like the Spyder colour correcter for monitors. (=

the only difference I can think of is a much thinner wallet or a lower bank balance. :D

just like skimmers, different pple has different views...

i'm pleased with my own DIY skimmer, but pple like roidan goes all the way to ensure that their water is 100% fool-proof...

same thing for glass...as weileong mentioned, if our corals are lousy ones, then no point have sapphire glass...

if its me, i will certainly go for acrylic...one reason, i can make it myself...but then again, the scratches will be a big headache...

The MAJOR downside of acrylic is the scratches

Just some info:

Most merchant now do not take new stock once their current stock of Starphire runs out. Starphire is made by company called PPG in the USA. The other option is use OPTIC WHITE which is made by another company in the UK. The quality of the optic white is 1 grade below that of starphire.

I have contact for tank maker that can get starphire glass and uses DC795 and make tank exactly aquatechnic style where the gap is at leat 2 mm silicone. Anyone interested can PM me.