Ablerex UPS

diabolus

hi all,

was at the Home-Fix store at IMM just now and happen to chnce upon this UPS.

i understand that the 1000L is retailing at $182.00

Attached is the brochure i got from their website.

the main thing, is it value for money?

how long can a 1000L (1000VA) drive a air pump and a PH with a combined wattage of say 20W?

Bro, got PDF error - cannot see.

Not sure can or not. Cuz it is using simulated sine wave.

From what I know, it is better to get true sine wave UPS. Reason??? I dunno cuz me no electrical guy. :D

Just check with my in-house EEE grad, true sine wave set will give you constant currently supply without fluctuation whereas the non sine wave set will have fluctuation of current. :rolleyes:

Fluctuation of current can be detrimental to some sensitive equipment but not sure it will shorten the lives of air-pumps of skimmer for this matter. :blink:

Any other gurus here can advise???? :D

If using on periperals that contains IC chips it may damage the chips... but I have to add that nowadays IC chips are made to withstand a greater current fluctuation. Although the product produces power in the form of simulated sine wave, if the electrical load is constant the fluctuation is minimal.

Diablolus, as to how long it can drive your 20W load, I reckon it can last for more than the 30min (base on the brochure of up to 30mins on a typical PC load) cos PC wattage is very much more than 20W.

post-54-1107833267.gif

"Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see."

"Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation."

- Melchett and Edmund Blackadder

If using on periperals that contains IC chips it may damage the chips... but I have to add that nowadays IC chips are made to withstand a greater current fluctuation. Although the product produces power in the form of simulated sine wave, if the electrical load is constant the fluctuation is minimal.

Diablolus, as to how long it can drive your 20W load, I reckon it can last for more than the 30min (base on the brochure of up to 30mins on a typical PC load) cos PC wattage is very much more than 20W.

Wah, whcih means we need a super size one if we need to power up for 2-3hrs.

For me if the most important equipemnt to me is the return pump thus, I may get it in case scenario I experienced last week re-enact. :P

My estimate is that it can power a 20W for around 1.5 hours cos a typical PC load consumes an average of around 65W although most are rated around 300W but that's when its at its full load i.e defragmenting the harddisk. 1.5 hrs... hehe.. better than nothing lah. :P

post-54-1107833267.gif

"Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see."

"Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation."

- Melchett and Edmund Blackadder

try this $165 for the one you mention and 60 for one that powers half of it....

Thanks Tineng, I nearly fainted when I saw the link provided by JC85 saying that it is $1800! :ooh:

Wah, seems like a good buy for the survival of our precious! :D

You guys might want to be careful of the waveform. From the brochure, ablerex 1500L is using simulated sinewave which may cause problem to some device.

http://www.ablerex-ups.com.sg/sm_business.html#1000l

Their ablerex ms series does provide true sinewave (from brochure).

http://www.ablerex-ups.com.sg/corporate.html#ms

Read the discussion thread we had a few months back. Roidan has problem with those that gave non smooth sinewaveform on this eheims and tunzes.

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...topic=18843&hl=

Do be careful.

JC

acutally depends....if using to power cheapo air-pump then maybe can....bro diabolus the cost of damaging the pump might not be a big a lost as your precious.....also with just a nano, i think you can get away with a very very small pump with low wattage....ie, longer running time....:D

If I still remember my electrical engineering that I took 20 years ago, The turning of motor shaft is due to the changes of electromagnetic wave generated by the sine wave of the A/C current. If the sine wave is not a true sine wave, your magnetic shaft may rotate in a aweful manner similar to a car engine with the spark plug firing prematurely and risk punching a hole in the engine block, or in this case the motor housing.

I think the same thing applies to air pump as well since it is using electromagnetic concept as well. You may prematurely wear out the diapham(??)

On the other hand, non-true sine wave is ok for computer since in the case of computer, the non-true A/C through a transformer to transform the A/C into D/C which means the sine wave has no significances.

Hope my understanding is correct.

cheem ...though its 20years ago...

Anyway IMHO , these are the few questions u need to ask yourself

1) This is Singapore. How many times have your power supply tripped in a year ?

2) When is the last time that u have been away from home for so long till your reef will actually crashed ?

I might be wrong...but i just thought that this was logical.

cheers :)

cheem ...though its 20years ago...

Anyway IMHO , these are the few questions u need to ask yourself

1) This is Singapore. How many times have your power supply tripped in a year ?

2) When is the last time that u have been away from home for so long till your reef will actually crashed ?

I might be wrong...but i just thought that this was logical.

cheers :)

but did u ever consider when there happens to be a power cut when no one is at home at that time?

Thousands of dollars of SPS and LS without chiller,oxygen you can say bye bye to.

you never know when Murphy strikes but wat i know is that he always strikes when no one is at home.

Hi folks,

Perhaps alot of you are wondering why is the UPS that I post so much more expensive than the current suggested one.

I will try to elaborate as much as I can since I am a laysman myself. The UPS that I suggested for bulk ordering is an online UPS which perform double conversion from AC->DC->AC. This process actually provide the best sine wave for equipment.

The other thing which I understood from most vendors, is most low end UPS only comes with a physical barrier, this actually cut off the backup time at a specified time prefixed by the manufacturer. This part of it will not allow those who need 2-3 hours of backup time.

It is alittle bit complex so let me share a scenario that I was being quoted, the UPS that backup a undergravel filter of 20W can actually last 4 hours easily however in the event of a power failure, the design of the UPS will actually cut off power supply to the undergravel filter in a prefixed time set by manufacturer, so if this prefixed is set at 30 mins. Even if the UPS internal battery can last another 3.5 hrs it will just terminate power supply at a maximum of 30 mins.

According to Ablerex, they claim that their UPS cut off time is at 1hr therefore this will not be sufficient for the users who need 2-3 hours. Their suggestion to counter this problem for marine aquarist will be using their Ablerex Mars RT. The reason being is because of the design of the UPS. This Mars RT actually cut off the power supply based on the leftover battery capacity. Therefore, it will be more viable for us as backup time will be longer.

The above are quoted from the few UPS vendors whom i spoke with.

Anyway, the use of UPS to me, is really like having a insurance. I can't afford to risk the life of my favourite flamey angel.

Just my 2cents worth.

So Dovol,

What is your suggested UPS set-up suitable for our hobby and how much will it cost us? ;)

TIA.