DSLR Canon 350D

bwilly

Just got my set from Harvey Norman Yishun, due to the many promotions bundle. Saw today newspaper on the offer.

Service is pretty crap when the middle aged guy served me.

I ask him what's bundle, He says, where got free things???!

I retorted back "wah lan.. newspaper put wat, your manager never update you is it?"

Decide to buy from him even though service was crap, since its near my home and I get the free Air Supply concert tixs.

What I got.

Canon 350D w/kit lens

1G Kingston (normal speed) CF

1G Lexar 80x CF (from Canon but redeem at HN)

Digi tripod - rrp $28

Canon bag - rrp $48

two free tixs to air supply on 23rd June 2005

3 years extended warranty

battery grip

Total $2168 ($1999 + $169)

Pretty reasonable since I can pay via my CC installment plan.

Also I saved myself going down the trip to harbourfront.

After deducting all the cost, its almost similar from some local shops pricing.

post-11-1117867262.jpg

• Replies 97

I didn't get such a good deal when I got the 300D. :(:cry:

The only way to console myself is to force myself to think that there's no reason to upgrade unless there's a full frame 35mm sensor DSLR selling @ $2166. :yeah::yeah::yeah::cry:

I waited quite long b4 I grabbed this deal.

Was pondering to get from one shop at $1760 with one free CF card.

But the deal from HN comes with the freebies plus 3 years warranty, so I buy.

Just got my set from Harvey Norman Yishun, due to the many promotions bundle. Saw today newspaper on the offer.

Service is pretty crap when the middle aged guy served me.

I ask him what's bundle, He says, where got free things???!

I retorted back "wah lan.. newspaper put wat, your manager never update you is it?"

:o:lol:

Good buy...I felt like playing with it..Grxz :pinch:

no problem with taking tv shots..

maybe with some adjustmnet, future shots will be good.

esp taking dvd shots, use it to print as dvd cover..

do pirated sales at MRT, earn some cash back..

post-11-1117882986.jpg

its certainly a good buy, with so many freebies and extended warranty. but let's also consider its competitor d70s, which comes with longer and more expensive lens, and larger LCD. no intention to start a debate of nikon vs canon. :rolleyes:

Yup... D70s is the upgraded model of D70.. still 6mega pixel only...since price is abt same as 350D.. i rather go for 350D which is 8 mega pixel.... pic quality also better than D70s.... Read up that noise in 350D is better than D70 in higher ISO but not sure abt D70s... I guess not much change also ;)

oh ya see from review can tell which is good liao.... www.dpreview.com IMo if i would to choose between d70 and D70s i would go for D70, not much diff and maybe can get cheaper somemore :lol::lol:

DA, check here. For actual noise pic.

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=134826

Barely noticably even at ISO1600, except when you blown it up.

Super mega burst, faster than D70s..

Nikon seem to have more X lens, which also sway me to get Canon.

ya and camera with very low noise at high 1600 is one of the main criteria I look for(for me only).... Wa the maroon clown like can sparkle one :lol::lol:

hotlemond, you need to get a drybox to keep it.

At least get a cheapo one, $20 with gel throw in.

U dun want a couple of G cam go mouldy n dusty on you.

If got budget, get a dry cabinet like me, I got mine for abt $200+.

Can dump everything in, wedding album, muscle supplements, porno mags..

those stuffs that you want to keep dry n in good condition.

How does this look?

Familiar? Same workflow I used for the FZ20 the other time.

post-11-1117979610.jpg

Bro, looks like a cool piece of toy! when can we expect some nice pics from you? :P

I will be joining some of the snapper of a local photo forum for some shots.

This month my company organise beach party at Sentosa for staffs, I am in the organising commitee, hopefully I can spare some time snap some of the chio bu of my company. :)