Landscaping

Any of the Seniors here can advise on this?

Used to see some very nice egg crate "building and city" and some even PVC for the live rocks to sit on but couldn't find them now ...

Saw some fantastic rock scaping, do u really "glue" them up, stick them together? use what?

Really like to make up some ROCK Volume, and scaping .. pls advise in any way .. very much appreciated ..

mydog.gif

• Replies 75

egg crate - light diffuser u can get from a hardware shop near petmart.

for some they use egg crate, drill two holes onto the pvc pipes.

then use those dunno wat u called them, plastic "string" tie them together.

PVC pipes as support base is stronger than using egg crate.

Egg crate u can use as top layer to place LR.

I dun use much egg crate. I put my LR ontop of each other.

using the different kind of lobang n edges to make sure they are stable.

it gives a more natural look.

I like to create caves, where the fishes can swim in n out. also less

LR is used, good flow of water passing, n beneficial bacteria can thrive.

egg crate - light diffuser u can get from a hardware shop near petmart.

for some they use egg crate, drill two holes onto the pvc pipes.

then use those dunno wat u called them, plastic "string" tie them together.

PVC pipes as support base is stronger than using egg crate.

Egg crate u can use as top layer to place LR.

I dun use much egg crate. I put my LR ontop of each other.

using the different kind of lobang n edges to make sure they are stable.

it gives a more natural look.

I like to create caves, where the fishes can swim in n out. also less

LR is used, good flow of water passing, n beneficial bacteria can thrive.

the plastic string is call cable tie :peace:

Thanks guys ... i am hoping to "save" abit on the LR cos new tank may need alot (& i always late for the bargain buy here at pasa malam), at the same time have seen a no. of rock scaping nicely done using egg crate & pipes ...

like to see somemore scape work ..

depends on your tank. I use abt eh.. can't recall.. 15-20kgs.. a tank..?

old liao cannot remember.

wat's your tank size like..?

heres what i did,

i used cable ties to secure acylic sheets to pvc pipes,

some i used eggcrate, but on hing sight..

i think acylic is easier to hide..

i use flat rocks for scaping and overhang,

then plug the holes with corals and small LR.

hope this helps...

this is a pic of the back when i first stacked it,

the current front view can be seen here,

same set of LRs

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=5254

post-6-1068741214.jpg

using egg crate as base in the long run oki bo..?

does not look stable to me, I worry for u.

maybe like 80years old tat time, u go view yr tank,

they suddenly collapse on you. tat time no strength

to rescape the LR, chiam liao.. !

btw, veri nice tank. how many feet tank is tat.

I wanna to do something like dat for my future tank..!

using egg crate as base in the long run oki bo..?

does not look stable to me, I worry for u.

maybe like 80years old tat time, u go view yr tank,

they suddenly collapse on you. tat time no strength

to rescape the LR, chiam liao.. !

btw, veri nice tank. how many feet tank is tat.

I wanna to do something like dat for my future tank..!

IMO, eggcrates are strong enough and if constructed properly would hold for a very long time...

One advantage is that with egg crates, you can constructed the shape that you desire with very little usage of liverocks.....

and that IME, is a very good thing as

1) you spend less as rock this days are very expensive

2) eggcrates would be able to hold since amount of liverock is minimal....

I think I use less than 150 kg of liverock for my reefscape and that IMO, is a very big achievement for a 5 footer reef....