A new beginning

wilsontantw

sorry to hear that wilson, hope you are well soon enough. if need help, can call for me.

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

This morning, I had a sudden thought that reefing took up a lot time, money and effort. Thus was just wondering if I should decomm... Partly becoz I am expecting another new addition to my family in late Jan next year. Plus hiring a new domestic helper.

Really gotta juggle resources. Plus work is getting more stressful, economy not really doing well... Q4 outlook doesn't seemed to be any better...

Again, thanks Murphy, for paying me a visit!

And until I get my UPS backup, hopefully, I don't see him soon...

Or should I just decomm?

The story continues...

yo bro..me suffered the similiar fate like you when my second baby was on the way coming to this world...my mind keep telling to give up on reefing but my passion for reefing pull me through the odds..whenever i need to buy things on reefing...i just need to think & think & think before i can commit to it...

now i also need to get a domestic helper to take care of my kids and therefore my budget on reefing shrink further liao..haiz..

Just sharing..

Hi bro, congratulations on your latest princess!!!!!

Totally understand your feeling of constant blackouts.. It's frustrating... I experienced it so many times before and i suspect the powerpoint cant hold the strong current coming from my equipments.. Hope you get everything sorted out.... Even if you decom now, I'm very sure you'll be back again in the near future... Whatever it is, I wish you all the best and congratulations once again! :)

hey bro! firstly CONGRATS on the Princess!!!

next your de-com, think it's a waste, as those corals and livestocks that survived the blackouts etc, are really tough and are all survivors, it's hard to find such hardy specimens again.

anyway, i've got some problems too, haha. my chiller was OFF for 24 hrs, and my light blasting from 1000hrs-2359hrs (3 x 250 w MH, 4 x 80 w T5) haha, 1 sps and 1 hooded wrasse gone, but the rest are fine. :)

all the best bro! PM you regarding the visit.

" The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out; the brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. The brick walls are there to stop the people who don't want it badly enough. They are there to stop the other people! "

Randy Pausch, (The Last Lecture)

There you go wilson, enough +ve comments to help you pull through, hang in there. If you need some relief from reefing you know where and who to find. Oh just for info i was away for 8 days and my returned pump KO. So i guess we were in the same flt but different seat number! wahahaha

Finally, got over the outage heartache.

Thanks to you brudders to share my pain! more importantly... to those who asked me out for 'counselling' sessions, :ThanxSmiley:

Great Forum! Great Pals!

In the mean time, would like to share selected pix taken earlier today.

Fiji babes...

post-13920-079996800 1289745348_thumb.jp

(not fragged yet)

post-13920-032227200 1289745358_thumb.jp

(1 frag available - bro "Ed", let me know if you are keen k)

nice frags :)

Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2
Skimmer: Deltec AP701
Return pump: RD 6

Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil
Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150

Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmable

Linked tank
Main tank: 2 x 1 x 2
Return: Eheim 1260
Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controller
Wavemaker: Tunze 6025
My decommed 3 ft setup

Everybody's favourite... also very temperamental...

post-13920-016969600 1289745563_thumb.jp

Pretty common, but visually very appealing

post-13920-085538600 1289745601_thumb.jp

Some uncommon zoas - still trying to make them stabilise. Lousy survival rate...

post-13920-071148700 1289745621_thumb.jp

More favourites... the purple face has a green skirt.

post-13920-072047400 1289745640_thumb.jp

This purple face has purple skirt.

post-13920-045754900 1289745657_thumb.jp

Interesting pink face with weird pattern.

post-13920-070630200 1289745677_thumb.jp

Courtesy from Bro Eniram - slow grower... extremely slow.

post-13920-087330000 1289745694_thumb.jp

Bam Bam - this frag is available for sale, pm if you are keen. (hair algae will be removed before sale).

nice! Your frag tank is up and running liao?

not frag tank lah bro... it's holding tank... haha.

Been up for about 6 weeks already, just stabilised. Flow rate still got problem, lots of detritus... damn sian, every week must siphon them out. That's the problem with bare bottom tank.

very nice but the polyps can expand up to 3x larger once settled down.

Indeed bro... the main colony has polyps of that size... huge "petals".

nice frags :)

:) thanks thanks...

More SPSPSPSPSPSPSPSPSPSPSPSPSPS...

post-13920-080306500 1289747422_thumb.jp

post-13920-075255100 1289747434_thumb.jp

post-13920-052703800 1289747451_thumb.jp

post-13920-062650800 1289747467_thumb.jp

Running out of space in main tank already... am planning a rescape next month during my holidays...

In the mean time, am slowly adding more to the humble collection...

nice sps/frags etc

if any to sell in future

will get it from u :eyebrow:

nice sps/frags etc

if any to sell in future

will get it from u :eyebrow:

that's flattering bro.. :friends:

i think i should be getting from you instead. Im impressed with your setup!

Watch this space (or pasar malam), i actually need to start housekeeping soon.

waaaaaaa...

all the hidden gems are out!!!

let me know if u have small frags of your fiji pipe organs... :thumbsup:

and is that a purple birdnest in post #2241?

You haven't drop by lately. That's why. Haha. Fiji pipes I only have 1 frag. Someone had requested this awhile ago. Need to give him first right of refusal bro.

I'll frag more next time. It takes a couple of months to culture into a decent size. Also risk of destroying the main colony..

:(

It's close to purple. But more of deep dark pink with bluish polyps. Does look a little purple.

Nice come back, bro! :cheers:

:) thanks bro. I'm glad the holding tank is stabilized now. It helps with the new light set.

How yours coming along??

hey bro the millepora frag u passed me the last time belongs to what colony har? The brown is fading away slowly into a jade green tint, polyps still transparent, stn stopped after i covered the exposed parts with epoxy & new flesh growing over it.

Cedric says it's prostrata actually. Jade green body with bluish polyps I think.

This piece is not featured in this series of shots.

Hehe..

I also observed mine changing colour with the addition of another 6025.

Cedric says it's prostrata actually. Jade green body with bluish polyps I think.

This piece is not featured in this series of shots.

Hehe..

I also observed mine changing colour with the addition of another 6025.

have u tried the german blue digita from cedric's clinic?

i like your salmon pink digita....missed my appointment with dr cedric the last time...kaoz...