Wavemaker: Tunze 6025
My decommed 3 ft setup

• Replies 417

haha broke oreadi leh...pocket oreadi burnt 1 big big hole for my setup hehe

U can always save up.. ;) I'm sure ur review abt the magnum when u get will be followed by many of our members... :lol:

haha wait til i strike big sweep lol

Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2
Skimmer: Deltec AP701
Return pump: RD 6

Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil
Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150

Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmable

Linked tank
Main tank: 2 x 1 x 2
Return: Eheim 1260
Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controller
My decommed 3 ft setup

haha wait til i strike big sweep lol

Gd luck then... :lol::lol::lol:

my lousy rockscaping...spent 2 days...tink tats the best i can do...maybe haf to get a few bigger rocks to make dem higher...arrrr...neber born wif artistic cells even after viewing so many references... :cry:

post-15010-1235300290.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

my beckett skimmer...gonna use a rio20 to power it...

post-15010-1235323976.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

my lousy rockscaping...spent 2 days...tink tats the best i can do...maybe haf to get a few bigger rocks to make dem higher...arrrr...neber born wif artistic cells even after viewing so many references... :cry:

You may want to put that longish rock on the right center horizontal like a bridge. Looks kinda flat, so it's better to place corals. :eyebrow:

n34281892381_7606.jpg

bro, you can use a Rio26 to power that toy too. Not necessary a rio20 although rio20 is a cheaper alternative (:

but, I have to advise you that Rio HF pumps are running out in Singapore because from what I heard in the local "fish" market, the supplier gone bust

and,

about your tank aquascaping, I suggest is that you pay a trip to T95, get one huge rock and you are done for scaping. If not, try running pipes and cable ties to mix and match all your sparsely loose rocks together to make into a tower or something (:

Cheers :D

P.S: Do not worry about artistic sense. The current state is already looking great (:

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

thks for all the encouragement and advises...will try to modify the rockscape slightly to make it nicer hehe

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

y got 1 small piece orangish red rock on e left side huh

pls tell me its nt lava rock ??? -___-!!! ..

i tink it is haha y leh? dun tel me its nt advisable?

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

Tot u ordered skimz from AM liao?? :eyebrow:

haha after much consideration, i feel tat its realli too ex...gonna eat grass soon at this rate...i did my maths...

cost of rio20 + skimmer = $250

cost of sm150 = $588

Price difference = $338

Cost of running rio20 per mth (50w, 24 hrs, based on 31 days per mth) = $9.13

Cost of running sm150 per mth (20w, same assumption as above) = $1.83

Total savings per mth = $7.30

Cost of electricity= $0.2454/kwatt (latest price)

Therefore, no. of mths needed to break even: 338/7.3 = 45-46 mths

I find that it takes too long for me to breakeven, though i gotta admit tat the performance of skimz seems fantastic. Another potential issue i foresee for the higher voltage is the temp of my water. Its gonna increase faster, which might cause my chiller to kick in more often/longer....

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

haha after much consideration, i feel tat its realli too ex...gonna eat grass soon at this rate...i did my maths...

cost of rio20 + skimmer = $250

cost of sm150 = $588

Price difference = $338

Cost of running rio20 per mth (50w, 24 hrs, based on 31 days per mth) = $9.13

Cost of running sm150 per mth (20w, same assumption as above) = $1.83

Total savings per mth = $7.30

Cost of electricity= $0.2454/kwatt (latest price)

Therefore, no. of mths needed to break even: 338/7.3 = 45-46 mths

I find that it takes too long for me to breakeven, though i gotta admit tat the performance of skimz seems fantastic. Another potential issue i foresee for the higher voltage is the temp of my water. Its gonna increase faster, which might cause my chiller to kick in more often/longer....

Oic... :unsure: Anw hope to see more updates... :eyebrow:

most lava rocks are actually igneous rocks formed during volcanic eruptions. the difference in lava rock and live rock is the chemical content. live rock is primarily calcium carbonate. this is alkaline due to the metal calcium. but i will not go too much into chemistry here im sure none of u are interested haha.

lava rock (igneous rocks) have a high content of silicon dioxide. as silicon is a non metal, it forms acidic oxides. silicon dioxide is acidic and thus, lava rock is acidic as compared live rock which is alkaline. this is why most brackish water set up employ the use of lava rock to make the water more acidic.

there are a few kinds of igneous rocks. acidic, basic, alkalic and some other terms. the basic and alkalic ones contains alkali which is similar to calcium carbonate rock. however the difference is that the alkali chemical in the rock is not calcium. it is potassium or sodium. these 2 metals are also alkali, like calcium, but it will not help in calcification of water like what liverock does.

ok. main thing is, use liverock haha (: i think with ur lava rock, also can. just that live rock will be better. any rock experts here can please correct me if im wrong. just trying to help (:

haha thks bro...im juz curious onli...dun tink i wanna take out tat pc lol

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

my pump for my skimmer...rio20...found it after going around half of spore...tired...

post-15010-1235395859.jpg

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

Hahahahah finally you found your pump. So happy for you bro! Lol!!

haha yeah! bt hor, its realli loud n noisy...hopefully the noise will stop after a few days...

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup