Clams tank

shiok

Since those with clam only tanks are not replying, let me try. I don't have a clam only tank but I do know that clams will require intense lighting and are best viewed from the top. A calcium reactor will be mandatory for a well stocked clam only tank as they are big consumers of calcium. Water current doesn't have to be strong.

U will be looking at MH or least T5 lighting.

T5 place your clams high on top of your LRs for the mantle to absorb the lighting necessary for their normal photosynthesis..

They need the lights, with it, they can produce their own food.

Note the clams, also have a tube like thingy, that's the siphon for absorb stuffs also. Some cyclop-eeze feeding once awhile will also do them good. :rolleyes:

Check out my clam pages here. :D

http://bwilly.webspace4free.biz/clam.html

clams.jpg

clams2.jpg

Like wat you mention clam has to be admired from above,i thought of custom making this "clam tank" it would be shallow than my present 2 feet x 1 feet x 18 inches. I am using t5 light for my 4 clams now...

can any1 give me some idea please..

T5 seems good enough if shallow...i am putting my clams in my sump....the lamps to the water surface about 5 inches and the clams mantles are about 3inches below the water surface...that means the light travels 5inches of air and 3 inches of water before hitting the clam mantle..

according to edmund's website....2 54W using the parabolic reflectors give about 36600 lux....using a spot lightmeter...so it may just be sufficient..but of coz MH will be better....or use 3 or 4 T5s...hehe

alot of factors come into place here....

Hi! I got 8 clams in my 2 x 2 x 2 feet tank! I use MH single 150 W 10 K bulb. I put my lights about 3 inches from the water surface. I switch on the lights for 10 hours and every 2 to 3 days feed them with DT Phytoplanktons. When I used PL lights, they did not open much but after upgrading to MH, they always open their mantles big big! My biggest clam is about a feet long and smallest about 2 inches! :)

Actually beauty lies in the eye of the beholder. They do have nice clams! Price wise, subjective! Some ppl won't mind paying extra if they like the stuff! For me, give and take! If not too costly and nice I dun mind! Clams do lower down your nitrate rite?? Can anyone vouch this?? :thanks:

I don't think larger clams feed on cyclopeeze or even phytoplankton. Anyway, the tube like thingie is the excurrent siphon where it spits water out.

Clams can utilise nitrate from the water but will do make a significant impact on the nitrate level of a tank. According to some calculation done before, you'll need 0.5" of clam per gallon of water or something like that.

I don't think larger clams feed on cyclopeeze or even phytoplankton. Anyway, the tube like thingie is the excurrent siphon where it spits water out.

Clams can utilise nitrate from the water but will do make a significant impact on the nitrate level of a tank. According to some calculation done before, you'll need 0.5" of clam per gallon of water or something like that.

"all" clams take micro-food but not necessary feeding is required. IMO, bigger clams has larger mantle which helps it to create the necessary food via symbiotic zooxantellae algae relations. So feeding is lessen as it grows bigger.

I think there's a misconception abt clam that open wide of their mantle is not having enough light. Like fishes, who dun want to makan as much as possible? Clam that has mantle that extend beyond their shell rim is healthy. (from a couple of source i read) That is when they detect light source, at night the mantle not so.

http://www.etropicals.com/product/prod_Dis...=43&pCatId=1267

http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?cl...&articleid=2189

wad is the price of the clams at LCK? i wanna buy 1 maxi and 1 derasa :lol::lol::lol: