How to Test a Skimmer

Maxima

Don't worry. We can get robe to do it.

• Replies 141

How about getting a datalogger and measure the amount of light passing through from 1 end to a receiver? (My teacher's advice)

means you get samples of water after skimming and one before skimming for a control.

Den pass a ray of light through the water and let it fall on a receiver.

Then compare the amount of light after different skimmers.

Downside: The initial water has to be cloudy

That is testing the tank water for how much is skimmed out which is quite secondary when you can actually quantify the skimmate quite conveniently.

Perhaps absorbance can be used as a back up but where are we to find a UV Spectrometer for public use in Singapore? Also, the stuff in the water can sediment resulting in spurious readings.

What Up?

When are ya guys making the test?

Maxima, what up? ya got cold feet?

You should see more Deltecs working man, these are the best machines in the world!

Quality skimming=Deltec

Water Hogz=Becket (HSA etc.)

Both are good, but I'll take the German any time, (as I did).

Hi Vili Shark... are you from Israel? :)

None of us have seen a Deltec working so most of us can't wait to do this skimmer test! :D

What Deltec are you using now (are they as equally costly where you are?) and which Beckett model have you used before?

with such a BIG price tag, i hope it can surpass all other skimmers of the same price...

Not gonna spare you, Typrobin .. :P demand also to see the Robskim Master in action.... !!! :P:peace:

bro, dun like tat lah...pple will laugh at me if i were to bring it out for the competition..."what is tat student trying to do with that screwed up stuff"

That's strange.....

From my understanding, screwed up items don't skim well... B)

That's strange.....

From my understanding, screwed up items don't skim well... B)

:paiseh::paiseh:

bro, thanks for the encouragement...

anyway, y not we run our own competition??

your beckett vs h&s vs my spray injector vs aquaC vs weipro vs macro needlewheel

any other skimmers u can think of?

friendly sparing session only...

the problem is the place, and who is going to foot the electrical bills?

we will only judge with our eyes...not all the stupid chemical bullshit...

A public display of skimmers versus skimmers would be better.... believe everyone is interested in the results... :) of course it would be a friendly skimming session .. :P

And after that, if enough foam is created... we can have a foam party!! :P:P:P

A public display of skimmers versus skimmers would be better.... believe everyone is interested in the results... :) of course it would be a friendly skimming session .. :P

And after that, if enough foam is created... we can have a foam party!! :P:P:P

think of a place big enough and also a public place leh...

boss!!! any suggestions?? *hinting* hehehehe....

think of a place big enough and also a public place leh...

boss!!! any suggestions?? *hinting* hehehehe....

Easy la.. whose tank very polluted and leak of skimming

we can come over his place and perform the test.. and at the same time help him do a spring cleaning and skimmer out everything in his tank in this testing...

both party gain... :D;)

• 1 year later...

Was a test ever conducted? ;)

Nope, no test was ever conducted but there is a similar test that ran in the US inconclusively.

Actually, very easy to choose a skimmer.

Look at your reef, How big is it?

What kinda animals do you want to keep? Do they need super clean waters to thrive or will they be happier with slightly higher organics in the water?

How much space do you have?

Can you tolerate the sound of highpowered pumps?

How often and do you mind tuning and retuning the skimmer especially after water changes?

Lastly, find out how much you are willing to spend on a skimmer?

That will narrow down your selection to a few. Then its up to you to look around and visit other ppl's reef and see how the various skimmers are etc etc.

My 2 cents! :)