Newbie Setting Up His First Time Sw Tank

• SRC Member

Hello Everyone,

My Name is Giritharan, 19 this year, studying at NYP and this is my first time here, Newest of all:) I need Your Advice Seniors:)

Here is Wat i got:)

2ft tank,

Powerhead Water Filter,

Pink Light,

Protein Skimmer, $40

Air Pump, $6.80

Hydrometer, $28

Ph Tester, $10

Ammonia Tester, $22

NO2 tester, $13

Thermometer, $5

Marine Food, $10

20 bacteria Pills, 2 Different Types, $2 Each

BioRocks To culture the Bacteria, $14

Dead Coral Sand, $8

Dead Coral Chips, Free

Dead Large Coral, $15

On 26th August,

After buying all this equiment i setup my tank, Mixing the salt and water. I let it settle down for 1 hour and later check using hydrometer. it is in between 1.020-1.024. O before that i already added the sands, chips and the large one:).

On 27th August,

I bought A live rock and added to the tank. The LR worth 25$. It is 1 KG, it looks very red and many weeds on it.

(The Next following 5 days i added two different Bacteria Pills each.)

On 31st August,

I Bought 1 ClownFish and 2 Diamso Yellow Fin Fishes. I added to the tank. I notice the first live Rock has Some white patches growing on it. I ask the shop and they said it is ok..

Today 1st August,

My ClownFish died at 1200 pm Sharp. but my two diamso are healthy looking and running here and there. I tested the Ammoina, PH and NO2

The ph is stable about 8.0, but the ammonia and NO2 is so high, furthers of all in the scale:( i Panic. I when back to the shop and they told me more LR will help to reduce the ammonia.. So i bought $90 worth of LR. and added to the tank. After that i change about 20%of the water. About 3 hours later i tested the water again and the Ammonia and NO2 is still high, Wat should i do:(?

I hope you senior guyz there will help me out:)

Best Regards,

Giritharan

• Replies 120
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic