What's the darndest thing a LFS has ever told you?

salivateforme

me asking a particular lfs owner what harlequin shrimps feed on.

hokkien answer: orrrr....... ji kuan he simi bun jia eh. jia la sam lor.

loosely translated to english: orrrr....... this kind of prawn anything oso eat one. eat dirt lor.

:ph34r: faint........

• Replies 98

alright how abt .. i asked the auntie is it diffucult to keep ribbon eels .. she said no la this one very easy one eat anything and it wont die so easy one..

Zac's Red Sea Reefer 170

I ever went to a LFS near Farmart and was looking at some anemones when one of the shopkeeper came over and stand right next to me and repeating: "Can I help you".

Boh bian, so I took out one BTA and asked: "Boss, what is the scientific name for this anemone?"

He hesitated but because alot of curious shoppers also turn to us expecting him to answer, he vomitted out: "Alo bera". ;)

*** Wonder where he got the name?????? It could be an Aloe Vera drink he has drank 5mins ago. :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol: ***

I ever went to a LFS near Farmart and was looking at some anemones when one of the shopkeeper came over and stand right next to me and repeating: "Can I help you".

Boh bian, so I took out one BTA and asked: "Boss, what is the scientific name for this anemone?"

He hesitated but because alot of curious shoppers also turn to us expecting him to answer, he vomitted out: "Alo bera". ;)

*** Wonder where he got the name?????? It could be an Aloe Vera drink he has drank 5mins ago. :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol: ***

Wah...you guys are really all out to give a hard time to the LFS owners. hahahaha

hi ..

here is another one..... this happen when i just started this marine hobby..and knows nuts about it ...

happen to be in clementi, one of the lfs.. ( not marine lfs, that time still veri hot on luo han..:P ) i ask the anutie, the type of salt use for marine is wat type and do they sell and also much ...

she told me to buy the normal salt we eat can liao .. it is the same ... :P @$%@%

( no name mention )...i name this the "classic one"......

then i call one of my friend and he say cannot be ma ... shallbe different then my friend also become confused... then we check wif one of our lecturer at poly and he kindly explain to us the different .. :P

luckily... :P

thats a gd one... :D almost fell off my chair...

alo bera!!!

hahahahaha....

u takan the LFS owner lah...hahaha...

the most ridiculous one was not from any LFS owner but from a newbie...

i was at a FW/SW shop, and the stupid owner told the newbie(rich guy, mid 30s, drive BMW one) that he can dump the fishes into his tank already, since the salt already dissolve overnight...

i approached the guy and wanted to show him the address to our forum...he waved me off and told me to go away...as if i was some salesman...screw this stupid fella...hope tat he is now here and reading this!!!

alo bera!!!

hahahahaha....

u takan the LFS owner lah...hahaha...

the most ridiculous one was not from any LFS owner but from a newbie...

i was at a FW/SW shop, and the stupid owner told the newbie(rich guy, mid 30s, drive BMW one) that he can dump the fishes into his tank already, since the salt already dissolve overnight...

i approached the guy and wanted to show him the address to our forum...he waved me off and told me to go away...as if i was some salesman...screw this stupid fella...hope tat he is now here and reading this!!!

sometime doesn't pay to be hero lor......i tried to help someone (which i don't know) select clams before .... uncle at the shop gave me 'the eye'.... :blink: took my cue and keep quite....don't want to ruin other people business.....

Then this LFS is not very honest.... :angry:

Not trying to takan LFS owners lar, if you notice, most respected LFS will have the scientific names in their import list unless they dun do thier own import. But even then most will have a reference book to help them. ;)

And even if they dun have and dunno, it is still accpetable if they just tell me they dunno or will get back to me. But what is comicable about this guy is that he tries to con his way through. :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

If me, whenever I buy anything, I will make it a point to know its scientific names and I have never been offended when some LFS owners tell me they dun know - I still patronise them. :peace:

I must also add that there are a couple of LFS now a days that will provide scientific names when requested. B)

But the most professional one is of course CF, they will print our they scientific names on their invoice. :D

i told them my dad wasnt really happy abt it

hahah

That's a valid reason!

Unfortunately, I can't use that anymore...... :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

I think is a fact of life. If everyone who comes into the shop are expert in choosing clams, then all the good ones are gone, who will take the lousy one. I think the LFS owner is gambling on the fact that there are some experts and some amateurs, so the stock will balance off.

So pay as we learn is what happens in this hobby.

i think not knowing scientific names of ls can be excuse. but not like a lfs in woodland sometimes back who dont even know the common name. when you ask for price, he will take out a exercise book.there, the price with a sketch of the ls.

Oh my god!!!!! :shock::shock::shock::shock:

That's is really super "Boh Chap" liao. Wonder what they kind of husbandry they provide to your LS??????????? :pinch:

no la....i do think that most of the LFS are honest people....be it a bit rough.... :P ...

unlike us hobbyist, even if they are 20-30 years in the trade, i think they might not have experience with everything that goes through them (imagine most of them would need 10ft tank at home), we hobbylist on the other hand, because we invested time and money in the few LS we keep will tend to be more familar with some of the LS...even in their shop, the main concern is the sale of LS, not the keeping of these LS for long time so from they own personal experinece, anything that live from the time they stay in the shop to the time the get to the customer place - are easy to keep.... :P

so to be fair to all those shop owner....while this thread gives us a good laugh...lets not forget that some people are making thier livelihood getting all these wonderful animals to our door steps....

no la....i do think that most of the LFS are honest people....be it a bit rough.... :P ...

unlike us hobbyist, even if they are 20-30 years in the trade, i think they might not have experience with everything that goes through them (imagine most of them would need 10ft tank at home), we hobbylist on the other hand, because we invested time and money in the few LS we keep will tend to be more familar with some of the LS...even in their shop, the main concern is the sale of LS, not the keeping of these LS for long time so from they own personal experinece, anything that live from the time they stay in the shop to the time the get to the customer place - are easy to keep.... :P

so to be fair to all those shop owner....while this thread gives us a good laugh...lets not forget that some people are making thier livelihood getting all these wonderful animals to our door steps....

yap yap i agree ....

it them that started my interested in marine :D

hmmm... buy this one, very good if not good, u can bring back & change or get cash refund or exchange of another things... by the time go back for exchange for eg,...u order things on the shelf & it come back with slightly different in what is on display & they tell u why dont accept, OURS ARE THE BEST ..... :lol:

Okay, i add one incident.

went to lfs in the west not long ago. it has some 2ft nano tank set up for display and sale. the setup uses undergravel filter. so i ask lady boss why use undergravel filter, whether can sustain in long term etc etc.

guess what she reply....."this is trade secret, cannot tell u. u just buy, bring home can alreadi"!! I felt she treated me like a FOOL :angry: After that I did some research, and I guess it's probably following the "plenum" method.

Promised myself never to step into that LFS ever again. So far still keeping my promise.

Okay, i add one incident.

went to lfs in the west not long ago. it has some 2ft nano tank set up for display and sale. the setup uses undergravel filter. so i ask lady boss why use undergravel filter, whether can sustain in long term etc etc.

guess what she reply....."this is trade secret, cannot tell u. u just buy, bring home can alreadi"!! I felt she treated me like a FOOL :angry: After that I did some research, and I guess it's probably following the "plenum" method.

Promised myself never to step into that LFS ever again. So far still keeping my promise.

Sorry to hear tat frm that owner's mouth. But i guess i know which shop in the west will tell you tat.. ;)