keeping jellyfish!

chinmo

hi guys! brought 2 jellyfish from reb**n last weeek! was told by them they feed on liquidfry :huh: anybody here have any experience in keeping them? any info abt them? they come in blue, maroon, white colours and they don sting! :yeah:

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

Drop by underwater world and see their jellyfish setups...By the way..jellyfish lacking stinging cells usually have short and stubby tentancles...if they are coloured instead of being transparent most likely they store photosynthetic zooxanthellae.

If I'm not wrong people in Japan keep jellyfish in a fishbowl without any form of filtration for safety purposes. Obviously...the bigger the fishbowl the more stable your water parameters.

The average home aquarist is ill-suited to keeping a Jellies Tank. Trying to keep one in your rectangular tank means it'll be dead soon.

Do a search on a 'Kreisel tank' here in SRC for more info on a proper jellyfish tank.

Just forget the idea. ;) Too much cost involved.

The average home aquarist is ill-suited to keeping a Jellies Tank. Trying to keep one in your rectangular tank means it'll be dead soon.

Do a search on a 'Kreisel tank' here in SRC for more info on a proper jellyfish tank.

Just forget the idea. ;) Too much cost involved.

AT has spoken... :bow:

Keeping jellyfish more expensive than keeping SPS..tsktsk.. j/k. :angel:

chinmo:

u really bought the jellyfish from reborn last week ar?? haha ...

u noe hor... i stood at reborn observing the jellyfish for more than 1 hr or so... until the shop close leh.....but then hor... found that most of them were injured...

then also they need cold cold temperatures..... alot of other factors to consider.... thats why i did not buy the jellyfish in the end...... keke :evil:

good luck in u keep the jellyfish,.... if u can keep in alive.. then do let me noe.... i also wanna try keep it~~ hohoh :yeah:

Hi Chimo,

u can feed jellyfish with cyclop-ezze. At least, thats what the Dr told me at the Argent booth.

However, its better you find out what jellyfish u keeping & their requirement. Then, its easier to tackle on the feeding & keeping.

Wei :)

Well I am interested in keeping them too, but never did since AT has advise against it. here are some links I have found while searching for the tank design.

http://www.masla.com/invert/jellyfishpets.html

http://www.moonjellyfish.com

Well this guy tried in a regular tank but failed.

http://eelink.net/~eeadmin/ee-link/archive...222/370222.html

http://jellieszone.com/captivejellies.htm

http://www.reefs.org/library/talklog/r_toonen_051798.html

Dispite my efforts in searching, I can never find a schemantics of the design for the tank. Anyone care to share if one is found?

heard from someone before that keeping jellyfish needs sandy bottom alone and no liverocks... how true is it and what's the reason?

i suppose it's because with the "bouncing" the jellyfish get easily injured by rubbing against liverocks..... the finer the sand the better....

...what are u missing from your life?... dun wait till your last breathe before telling them that you care

Great links! Thanks for sharing! :)

So now more people will be convinced that keeping jellyfish is really a specialized task with every special housing needs and troublesome feeding requirements.

Better to leave them in the sea and don't support any trade in them. :)