Picture of my new pets!

Tanzy

I have recieved quite a few concerned PM regarding my lack of activity in the forum and some wondering if I am suffering from quarter life or one-third life crisis but the reality is that I have new pets that require a lot of my time and attention.

post-11-1068921607.jpg

More to come next week.

This is a cancer cell line. Whereas MRC5 is immortalised 'normal' cell line.

post-11-1068921812.jpg

How many microns are these? Are these suitable-sized for coral polyps to capture? :D

Busy mugging huh? Don't accidentally release the ebola virus and do remember to zip up your containment suit completely.

Still want to have supper with you at the end of the year! ;)

Don't worry I don't work with viruses. I don't think you can get a feeding response by using cancer cells with SPS. Besides, cancer cells are very expensive way to feed anything.

I took these photos using my digital camera coupled to the microscope eyepiece. B) Crude method but works well.

Don't worry I don't work with viruses. I don't think you can get a feeding response by using cancer cells with SPS. Besides, cancer cells are very expensive way to feed anything.

I took these photos using my digital camera coupled to the microscope eyepiece. B) Crude method but works well.

chio tanzy.. miss u liao..

you (avatar) still looks as cheerful, winter liao, wear more clothes, dun wear half-cup one.. :angel:

chio tanzy.. miss u liao..

you (avatar) still looks as cheerful, winter liao, wear more clothes, dun wear half-cup one.. :angel:

Thanks for the advice. I'll keep it close to my heart.

• 2 months later...

Much delayed update on my pets.

post-11-1076629184.jpg

A healthy (non-cancerous) transformed cell line.

post-11-1076629248.jpg

Hmmm. They don't really grow because they are gametes. You sort of keep them alive for a while and watch them wriggle. I'm not sure if we have frozen sperm but I'll see if I can find any and take a picture of it.

Not very nice to do it in the lab right? <_<

Not very conducive too.

It's been causally discussed before. Although semen has a S.G. of about 1.020 quite similar to seawater, the difference in osmotic pressure and temperature is too great and will kill the sperm cells. As a form of life food, it will not last very long in the environment, As a source of particulate protein, it has not been extensively explored. We do not know if corals or any organisms in the tank will directly utilise and benefit from sperm feeding. Perhaps you shouldn't waste your spunk and find out for all of us if it is worth the effort.

I do not see it as a viable form of food for the tank because of the difficulty in dispersing seminal fluid into the water as they have attendency to coagulate and clump together. Instead of getting a nice suspension, you will get one big messy lump of protein.

They only way is to place it into EDTA or something similar immediately after it is produced to prevent clumping.

I don't think you want to touch my stuff just as I won't want to be anywhere near your jism.