Urban Reef Concept

Hi guys,

i'm setting up a simple tank with modest equipments, in the hope of achieving a stylo-milo looking set-up with eye-popping corals in the future. :ph34r:

Alright, thats just an aim, but i'll try ya? :paiseh:

Will share more pictures, posts and updates as the tank develops, so all advice is welcome.... :bow::thanks:

• Replies 178

bro u sure can lah

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

469748_10150741487628605_529506809_o_zps36d5c396.jpg

Here is the tank being delivered to my door step. :rolleyes:

Specs are as shown:

30"x24"x20", 12mm glass tank with starphire glass front panel. Black Dow Corning silicon with external overflow box.

This tank will be braceless and hoodless, so as to give an open top urban zen style kind of feel, for a change... :whistle

post-13004-1243568319.jpg

Here is the tank being delivered to my door step. :rolleyes:

Specs are as shown:

30"x24"x20", 12mm glass tank with starphire glass front panel. Black Dow Corning silicon with external overflow box.

This tank will be braceless and hoodless, so as to give an open top urban zen style kind of feel, for a change... :whistle

post-13004-1243568319.jpg

This is almost exactly what I have in mind for my next tank, except for the Starphire glass (mine would be all round crystal glass). Looking forward to your updates! ^_^

very nice... keep the pics coming!

got a feeling this is gonna be good... what are the equiptments?

Hi bro raydiative, thanks for ur prediction, i hope so too..... :paiseh:

Anyway i'll slowly reveal the equipments that i'm using for this tank, but they will be just some simple and modest stuff la... nothing fancy. Pocket empty liao.... :paiseh:

run out of fragging places arh bro lolx.. :eyebrow::eyebrow:

Hi bro ambystoma, no la, i actually had in mind the intention to set up a tank just to keep some gems inside for quite a while already. No propagation on the books.

However, this tank will be mostly corals and very little fishes (maybe 2 or 3), and i'm hoping it'll be a showcase that is nice looking while needing minimal maintenance... :rolleyes:

keep the pics coming bro, i will be camping here hehe :eyebrow:

Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2
Skimmer: Deltec AP701
Return pump: RD 6

Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil
Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150

Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmable

Linked tank
Main tank: 2 x 1 x 2
Return: Eheim 1260
Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controller
Wavemaker: Tunze 6025
My decommed 3 ft setup

This is almost exactly what I have in mind for my next tank, except for the Starphire glass (mine would be all round crystal glass). Looking forward to your updates! ^_^

Haha cool!! Alright then, rest assured i'll try and keep this as updated as i can so that we can all share our experience and level up our knowledge at the same time. All round crystal glass will make the tank price a bit steep for me i think. Keeping budget low for now... :paiseh:

bro finally ur tank is here, when it's up n running, remember to invite mi over. btw i gt my 4ft tank liao. will be cycling it slowly.....while looking ard for chiller n light set

shopping time. lol

shopping time. lol. see you later ...if u are going....lol

bro finally ur tank is here, when it's up n running, remember to invite mi over. btw i gt my 4ft tank liao. will be cycling it slowly.....while looking ard for chiller n light set

haha hi bro!! Nice to see you here on my thread. Glad that your 4ft is finally delivered, now you can add more corals in future huh!

Do update us on the development of ur tank, so that we can all drool over the computer. Anyway i'll be surely happy to host you at my place if you wanna come... :D

My choice of piping for the new tank.

Still decided on +GF+ in the end as their fittings are the sleekest with the neatest finishing to me. :look: I'm a sucker for neat and sleek stuff.... :paiseh:

I agreed to buy the fittings and pipings that i needed and wanted for my new tank, while my tank maker would just cut and stick them to my specifications. But its always more painful when you're buying something that is not as widely used as other common brands...as i had to wait and search high and low for their stuff that are out of stock. :cry:

post-13004-1243783285.jpg

Good choice on having the overflow box outside the main tank bro ... scaping would be much easier n nicer.

Thanks bro. That was my intentions too. :paiseh:

I want to keep the tank as spacious and least cluttered as possible, so as to maximise the viewing pleasure. So that my eyes will only be looking at corals and fishes instead of overflow boxes and fittings... :lol:

Ok let me sidetrack a little. Went to Aquarama today and managed to find a good deal for my new tank. Bro thomas-lim, Dersuz and I bought this together at a very good price. :wub:

Of course, bro thomas was the one that "lost out" a bit in the end..... thanks to the "freebie" that me and dersuz got... :lol::lol:

post-13004-1243783841.jpg

A closer look at my favourite purchase today. :wub:

The surprise freebie was the feeder pump that came with the FR. It made the already good deal even sweeter when me and dersuz realised that there was a free pump that came with it (the pump wasn't displayed with the FR at the booth). Bad for bro thomas cos the bigger model he bought did not come with the pump..... *sorry bro it aint our fault* :lol::lol::D

post-13004-1243784211.jpg