My Reefing Chronicles

Admiraltian

Yes, it's kinda a overkill for my tank size. I'm not an expert but I'll try my best to answer ur question based on what I think. I could be wrong so dun quote me, ha ha...It is stated in the user manual for best performance, ur water level in the sump where u placed ur sc1455 shd be btwn 140 & 240mm. If the water level over this, u might over skim a little but nevertheless, u could still adjust the fine bubbles level in the inner cylinder of the collection cup by adjusting using the water level adjuster, turn anti-clockwise. The water level in the cylinder of the adjuster shd go down. U shd keep the foam level btwn the bayonet & bottom of the cup or even at a lower level for drier skimmate.

For wetter skimmate, u can adjust til the foam level is nearer to the top of the riser tube of the cup by doing the opposite, turn clockwise on the water lever adjuster.

If u still find it overskimmed, check ur water level in ur sump whether if it is over 240mm, u shd try to elevate ur skimmer higher in order not to over skim. Another option is to connect to a bigger collection container using the tubing provided. Hope this helps.

water level of skimmer will not affect over skim at all, it will only overflow if u place it deeper than stated. over skimming to my understand will never happen. infact if u buy a skimmer that is too big for your tank, u will end up under skimming instead.

Correct to bro. vtec if you're considering the efficiency of the skimmer from the skimmer's perspective.

Honestly overskim or underskim from your perspective is up to you, your school of thoughts. Some people like it some people don't. Go figure.

Fyi, For me I'm also using sc1455 on a 140L tank. Great investment imo. No kopi in collection cup but the neck is always filled with nasty goo.

Hope this helps.

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Bro just wondering how long does ur chiller kick in and out?

Choosing between the hs28 and hs66.

Thanks in advance.

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes

Too many people spend money they haven't earned to buy things they don't want to impress people they don't like.

Correct to bro. vtec if you're considering the efficiency of the skimmer from the skimmer's perspective.

Honestly overskim or underskim from your perspective is up to you, your school of thoughts. Some people like it some people don't. Go figure.

Fyi, For me I'm also using sc1455 on a 140L tank. Great investment imo. No kopi in collection cup but the neck is always filled with nasty goo.

Hope this helps.

Thanks for clarifying, bros...always have the misconception that overflooding and overskimming are related.

Anyway have gotten some new additions from fellow reefers...

Superman monti,

post-19777-0-32651400-1373632252_thumb.j

Rics & yuma on a rock,

post-19777-0-26138400-1373632420.jpg post-19777-0-43432100-1373632444.jpg

Rics garden,

post-19777-0-34306600-1373633003_thumb.j

Red plate,

post-19777-0-24418700-1373632530_thumb.j

A bigger frag of RABN,

post-19777-0-92624300-1373632808_thumb.j

Xman zoas,

post-19777-0-53054900-1373632907.jpg

Green acan,

post-19777-0-63119200-1373633209.jpg

Really dark purple acro,

post-19777-0-58353000-1373633109_thumb.j

And lastly my favs, Aussie scolys, bleeding apple & UFO,

post-19777-0-83759300-1373633305_thumb.j

Til the next update.... :cheers:

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.

nice additions..

bro, where u get your red plate with green tentacles from ?

Hi bro, I got it from a friend.

Nice collection bro.

Must have cost u a bomb XD

Thanks, bro. Leong liao, lol.

nice yuma n rics... gd size for feeding...

Thanks, u r the expert here in mushies, rics & yumas. I actually have problem sticking them to the spot I want. Must learn a trick or two from u.

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Hi bro, I got it from a friend.

Thanks, bro. Leong liao, lol.

Thanks, u r the expert here in mushies, rics & yumas. I actually have problem sticking them to the spot I want. Must learn a trick or two from u.

sama sama i also having problem sticking them to one spot

wah bro, awesome scollies and acans, amazing tank overall!

the first lights u were using was the maxspect 170 w right?

cheers jack

No, u making wild guess? I'm used to use lumenaqua max300 which I still trying to sell off.

I am guessing somebody is going to post new topic in pasar malam soon

Well...if that's his motive, we will soon find out. Or maybe he juz wanna get promoted to junior reefer instead of being a newbie.

Ok, time for some updates, added a auto top off system bought from Gemsurfs. Using for 2wks, but once a wk during my WC, I checked it never trigger at all. Water level never go below the sensor level, guess my evaporation rate pretty low. I already set to the float sensor to the highest and currently monitoring. My top off container is 4l and I tried trigger it and all is empty without stopping which is worrying. Salinity might fluctuated but I chk & appears fine. Next is I scared the pump will burn out due to the water dry up due to the dispensing. But I chk the pump has stopped. Could be due to the placement of my container which is on top my cabinet next to my tank. Been higher position than my sump so maybe gravity feed could draw more water from it. I juz place it on the ground today, let's juz see if it better on the floor and dun draw out all of the water in the reservoir.

Also other problems encountered recently is my tank having a bout of green slime algae and diatoms and worse of all, stn on some parts of some of my colonies, or rather the flesh been stripped out of the sudden overnite.

post-19777-1375018436395_thumb.jpg

post-19777-13750184877021_thumb.jpg

The reason I think as per been discussed in Fauna Marin product reviews is mostly likely due to me overdosing the colors elements which probably cause the appearances of excess green slime algae and diatoms on the sand bed. As for the stn or missing flesh, shd be dosing reef vitality and color elements on the same day. Too much of good stuff for the corals to absorb!!

On a good note, added another scoly and really liked this piece, master grade!!

post-19777-13750187913834_thumb.jpg

Hope it doesn't end up like the previous few scolys that I bought due to poor light acclimatization. Now looked like sick bay at one corner, post-19777-1375019016291_thumb.jpg

And the other is happy corner,

post-19777-13750190689881_thumb.jpg

That's all for the update, reefing folks.

Thanks for reading.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wow so many colourful donuts! !!!! So nice!!! Also the red plate. .. wow super nice!!

Bro awaiting ur FTS!!!

|| Tank: 5x2x2.5 || Sump 3.5x1.5.1.5 || Lights: DeLighting 2x80w Aquable Special T5 ||

|| Return: 2 x ehiem 1264 || Skimmer: Skimz SM251 ||

|| CR: deltec denitrator || ATO with custom make reservior tank||

|| FR: TLF running Rowas ,UV ||

|| Wavemaker: Jebao RE20& RW15|| Chiller: Daikin 1HP Compressor ||

|| Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor ||

wow the master grade scoly is mind blowing! awesome.. careful on the FM stuff.. read that they are very concentrated..

Thanks, hope I can keep it alive. Currently stopped dosing any supplements to keep diatoms and cyano at bay.

Wow so many colourful donuts! !!!! So nice!!! Also the red plate. .. wow super nice!!

Bro awaiting ur FTS!!!

Ha ha... Half my donuts in hospital, not good at all. U have more gems than me. Will try to take a fts soon. Still in the phase of filling some gaps.

saliva drooling liao.....

Mai tu liao, think still have scolys at pinnacle & lck. Lol

Another 2 new additions, sps this time around.

Heard this one called kit kat. Also heard that its a difficult one to keep. Hope it will do well in my tank. Simply loved its coloration, lime green body with purplish blue tips.post-19777-13752855813333_thumb.jpg

Purple monti with greenish polyps. Dunno what the name, any monti experts who can enlighten?

post-19777-13752856548703_thumb.jpg

That's all for now, cheers & happy reefing!!

( lime green body with purplish blue tips and Purple monti with greenish polyps).Wow nice addition. If you fraq them remember to inform me.

As for Reef Vitality have to go slow.

The recomended dosage seem to much.

and remember to reduce your Amino dosage by more then half.

Including Amin, and those color elements or any other brand of Amino acid.

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

( lime http://api.viglink.com/api/click?format=go&key=2dd33656ed7c84e877e361c8279af56d&loc=http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/topic/103664-my-reefing-chronicles/page-20&v=1&exp=1:C30:65&mid=__default__&type=H&libId=29395fa5-a651-4235-b621-5a58085f48eb&out=http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?toolid=10029&campid=CAMPAIGNID&customid=CUSTOMID&catId=220&type=2&ext=330951112689&item=330951112689&ref=http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/forum/34-members-tank-specs/&title=My Reefing Chronicles - Page 20 - Members Tank & Specs - Singapore Reef Club&txt=green body&jsonp=vglnk_jsonp_13754209159218]green body with purplish blue tips and Purple monti with greenish http://api.viglink.com/api/click?format=go&key=2dd33656ed7c84e877e361c8279af56d&loc=http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/topic/103664-my-reefing-chronicles/page-20&v=1&exp=1:C30:65&mid=__default__&type=H&libId=29395fa5-a651-4235-b621-5a58085f48eb&out=http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?toolid=10029&campid=CAMPAIGNID&customid=CUSTOMID&catId=267&type=2&ext=360700934124&item=360700934124&ref=http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/forum/34-members-tank-specs/&title=My Reefing Chronicles - Page 20 - Members Tank & Specs - Singapore Reef Club&txt=polyps&jsonp=vglnk_jsonp_137542094748212]polyps).Wow nice addition. If you fraq them remember to inform me.

As for Reef Vitality have to go slow.

The recomended dosage seem to much.

and remember to reduce your Amino dosage by more then half.

Including Amin, and those color elements or any other brand of Amino acid.

Ok, if I ever frag which I think I let it grow for the time being.

Thanks for the advice. Anyway I stopped FM additives dosing for the moment. Fighting against green slime outbreak & diatoms.

Hopefully it will get better then I start again.

Respect :groupwavereversed:
Thanks, bro. Juz a normal reef tank.

Juz got a few new frags from MASS frag sale, here's some pics...

Acan from Coolguy,

post-19777-13761335837716_thumb.jpg

Purple valida from Kakani,

post-19777-13761336220952_thumb.jpg

Pink birdnest from Yellowtang,

post-19777-13761337418338_thumb.jpg

Sorry cant really capture the true colors of these corals wif my lousy iPhone.

Cheers & have a gd weekends, fellow reefers!!

hey bro, better sort out why the scolys became tht way previously.. unless u are pretty sure what is the cause.

normally light acclimation can be observed from coral color loss. Neither yours look like a case due to high flow from keeping sps.

It did look like a mis-adventure from killing aiptasia with Calcium overdose in tank. Receding seems sudden with much color still retain.

Your cynarina seems to suffer the same before. Shld skip those frozen feeds to reduce algae growth on their skeleton.

hey bro, better sort out why the scolys became tht way previously.. unless u are pretty sure what is the cause. normally light acclimation can be observed from coral color loss. Neither yours look like a case due to high flow from keeping sps. It did look like a mis-adventure from killing aiptasia with Calcium overdose in tank. Receding seems sudden with much color still retain. Your cynarina seems to suffer the same before. Shld skip those frozen feeds to reduce algae growth on their skeleton.
Ya, my scoly's tissue recede but colors still retained. Some faded a little but more or less colors still there. Actually my cynarina are the lps that are the most hardy & doing the best in my tank compared to Scoly, prata, trachy, lobos etc. I feeding less these 2 wks, in fact I haven't feed them for 2 wks, juz broadcast liquid zooplankton food once a few nites ago. Bro, Dun get what u mean by calcium overdose? My ca levels approx 400-420ppm & my flow seems ok too.

Ya KIT-KAT is doing very well. Not easy to maintain its colors. :thumbsup:

Thanks, hope I can keep it alive. Currently stopped dosing any supplements to keep diatoms and cyano at bay.
Ha ha... Half my donuts in hospital, not good at all. U have more gems than me. Will try to take a fts soon. Still in the phase of filling some gaps.

Mai tu liao, think still have scolys at pinnacle & lck. Lol

Another 2 new additions, sps this time around.
Heard this one called kit kat. Also heard that its a difficult one to keep. Hope it will do well in my tank. Simply loved its coloration, lime green body with purplish blue tips.attachicon.gifImageUploadedByTapatalk1375285585.137021.jpg
Purple monti with greenish polyps. Dunno what the name, any monti experts who can enlighten?
attachicon.gifImageUploadedByTapatalk1375285659.011458.jpg
That's all for now, cheers & happy reefing!!